Chocolate Earl Grey Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2013
A very good cookie although I did think the cocoa overpowered it a little. I used the tea from three Twinings Earl Grey tea bags (about 3 tsp) and it was already so finely ground that I didn't do anything more with it. Next time I may use more tea. I also added 1/2 tsp almond extract, which added a bit more depth to the flavor, and 1/8 tsp salt. I chilled the dough for about half an hour, then rolled it into balls, flattened them slightly and pressed them into colored sugar before baking. I think my cookies were bigger than the recipe intended since I only got 2 1/2 dozen and I had to cook them 9 minutes instead of 7 or 8 as other people have reported. They still looked very underdone when they come out, but I let them cool on the pan for about 5 minutes before moving them to a rack, and by then they were perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KateShaw

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2013
These were neat to try. The cookie is really cake-like. Very nice texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by katrwag

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Manteca, California, USA
Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2013
I made some substitutions - margarine for butter, egg replacer for egg - and I didn't have a coffee grinder, but the cookies turned out wonderfully. I used the advice of other reviewers and only baked 7 minutes. I guess I made my cookies too small, because I ended up with ~60, but all the better for portion control!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2011
I had this cookie from a bakery without the cocoa and it was fan-tab-u-lous! Remember when baking to not over bake at all. Bake through just until done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marcia*sGirlz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Berlin, New York, USA
Living In: Schodack, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2011
Sophisticated cookies! I used Hersheys Dark Cocoa powder, 6 Stash teabags and added a pinch of salt. I made them small, about 1 tsp of dough. I chilled the dough and they barely spread at all. These will become a regular treat around here. Thanks for a lovely new taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BigShotsMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Long Beach, New York, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2011
These cookies have somehow managed to push ahead of chocolate chip cookies as my favorite type of cookie. Everyone who had one loved them and couldn't get enough. They were soft and cakey, a little crumbly, and very delicious. I added white chocolate chips, which I felt really added to the delicious flavour combo. We used a food processor to grind up the tea, and it worked perfectly. They were really chocolaty, which I personally loved, but someone who isn't such a big fan of chocolate might want to use less chocolate or a semi-sweet cocoa powder. A great recipe, if you are a tea lover you MUST try it, and I can't wait to try it with other varieties of tea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2011
Very unique cookie! I didn't have a coffee grinder so I had to suffice with just crumbling the tea leaves as best I could with my fingers, they still ended up in rather large pieces but I didn't mind at all. Definitely an adult cookie, savoury and not overly sweet
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Niroszyckame

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Slave Lake, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2011
epic fail.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LittleLibra89

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2010
You really need to tell people what they are eating or else it just tastes strange. But if you KNOW that flavor is Earl Grey, it makes it pretty cool. The texture of these is perfect. I'll probably make them occasionally in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LoveNCyprus

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA
Living In: Malaga, Andalucia, Spain

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2010
Tasted like a less-sweet version of a brownie. Word to the wise - do not overcook! Using the same batter, the second tray of cookies became dry and chalky by adding only an extra minute of cooking. I think 7-7.5 minutes is enough; they will taste better the next day using this time frame.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chili Chocolate Cookies

See how a dash of cayenne pepper really draws out the chocolate flavor.

No Cholesterol Chocolate Chip Cookies

These amazing cookies are good for the heart AND for the taste buds.

Triple Chocolate Chip Cookies

Make chocolate chip cookies without an electric mixer.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States