Chocolate Drops Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Jillian Kuhlmann
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2009
Very good and you can get creative with it. I used M&M's and peanut butter in place of the butterscotch. I added about 1/2 cup more of potato chips. I spread the mix out on parchment paper and put in the freezer to firm. Then broke it up into chunks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian Kuhlmann

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mansfield, Texas, USA
Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2007
My aunt found this recipe years ago and it's ALWAYS a hit when you take to parties. Salt, grease and chocolate all rolled into one! I half the recipe as it makes a lot. I like to have guests guess what the ingredients are...makes for interesting conversation as they can never figure out what the "crunchies" are. I put them in mini-cupcake cups. It's tedious, but it's easy for guests to handle. I'll have to try dropping them on waxed paper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2008
Try adding a package of peanut butter chips... my mother in law taught me this trick and it is amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JESSIE6381
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2005
I've tried making chocolate covered potato chips before and they just didn't turn out...but these were FABULOUS!!! I think the butterscotch is the secret ingredient! So easy to remember the recipe, too :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JESSIE6381

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Corcoran, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2010
We really enjoyed these, made quite a huge amount but each cookie is a small chocolate bar and they vanish just as fast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carrie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2009
These are to die for!!! I used 1 cup of almonds instead of the peanuts and man, are they addictive!! I kept them in a ziploc bag in the freezer and ate them right out of the bag, usually still frozen. Thank you so much for this easy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2000
So quick and easy! For all of you who like your sweet and salty together!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2008
Everyone liked these a lot! Even got asked for the recipe. I might use more chips next time thought for more salt!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2010
Easy and very popular. We also make them on the campstove sometimes when camping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Scottsville, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by bellepepper
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2010
These were disappointing to me. The flavor is excellent, but I won’t be making them again. At room temperature, these are really messy to eat and chocolate melts all over your fingers – not exactly something I’d want to serve at a party where they’d be sitting out. If you store them in the refrigerator and eat them straight from the fridge, they’re fine. If you do make these, here's a little tip: 2 1/2 oz. of chips = 1 cup crushed. A little digital scale really helps.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bellepepper

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Upper Arlington, Ohio, USA
Living In: Dublin, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Crinkles II

See how to make chocolate cookies coated in confectioners' sugar.

How to Make Chocolate Macarons

See how to make little meringue sandwiches with a ganache filling.

Cinnamon Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to make chocolate chip cookies with some cinnamon snap.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States