Chocolate Drop Cookies II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2006
I did the cookie part of this only- not the marshmallows or frosting. I frosted them with leftover frosting from "Carrot Cupcakes with White Chocolate Cream Cheese Frosting" from this site. GREAT combo! The delicate white chocolate/orange flavor of that frosting really compliments the rich chocolate taste of these cookies. The cookies are nice, soft, chewy and delicious. I know they'd be great with marshmallows/chocolate frosting too. I used half whole wheat pastry flour and 1/3 cup brown sugar in place of some of the white. The dough is very soft, and the cookies puff up in the oven and get a little flat when you take them out. I got 23 cookies out of this recipe using my Pampered Chef cookie scoop.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by What a Dish!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2008
I did about a 1" round scoop for each cookie and they turned out perfect. They were soft and yummy. I only made the cookie dough and used DARK cocoa powder and added white chocolate chips! They were VERY good this way!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2001
So delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karin
Living In: Jamestown, North Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2011
Loved it! A chocolate lover's dream! The only complaint I have was that it didn't make enough cookies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by DarcieA
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2011
My husband describes these as "addictive!" I didn't have margarine on hand, so I substituted butter. The cookies came out perfectly soft. Next time, I do plan to use small marshmellows instead of going thru the trouble of cutting the large ones in half. For me, the frosting was too thick to spread as written. So, I just added more heavy cream until I got the texture I liked. These are RICH and satisfy the choc-o-holic in me! We will keep this recipe- thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DarcieA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2011
These were a great addition to our cookie tray! I will use small mrshmllws next time as I wound up cutting the big ones into 1/4 size so it was easier to ice over. The icing was very dry & did not come together with the msrments listed so I just added more cream to get the right consistency. It turned out great! I used Hershey's cocoa and a 1in scoop and cooked at times listed. They came out soft but firm enough to hold up. The kids & I agree that the batter tastes like brownies and the finished cookie was a huge hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2008
I loved these cookies :D they were tedius but it was worth it.. the only thing i would change would be the icing it was kindof rich
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brittany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2009
Wow these cookies are great. Much better than I was expecting. The icing is AMAZING. Only change was using butter which caused the cookies to spread very thin but i like crispy so i just love these cookies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ABBIEA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2013
Just made these cookies for the Holidays. First the columns need to be marked as cookie and frosting for those of us not so savvy. Anyhow..I substituted marshmallows for the Candy Cane kisses..and no frosting!!! Pretty and Yummy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2014
Delicious! I made them without the frosting. The only other change I made was that when I took them out to put the marshmallows on, they seemed like they were very close to done, so I put them back in the oven for one minute instead of two so they wouldn't get overcooked or too dried out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

No Cholesterol Chocolate Chip Cookies

These amazing cookies are good for the heart AND for the taste buds.

Chili Chocolate Cookies

See how a dash of cayenne pepper really draws out the chocolate flavor.

Cinnamon Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to make chocolate chip cookies with some cinnamon snap.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States