Chocolate Drop Cookies II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2011
These cookies are truly delicious and very rich. Great with a glass of milk! I made one major change: Used butter. I also had to add more liquid to the icing. The icing is so creamy and tasty! I think I'll use it again! My only complaint is the cooking time- mine were undercooked, and you really can't tell because of the color of the cookie if they're cooked or not. The end result was a bit soft- like they fall apart when handled. Although this could be because of the butter? I didn't have any troubles icing them, found it quite easy. All in all a great tasting cookie. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Skoo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stettler, Alberta, Canada
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2006
I did the cookie part of this only- not the marshmallows or frosting. I frosted them with leftover frosting from "Carrot Cupcakes with White Chocolate Cream Cheese Frosting" from this site. GREAT combo! The delicate white chocolate/orange flavor of that frosting really compliments the rich chocolate taste of these cookies. The cookies are nice, soft, chewy and delicious. I know they'd be great with marshmallows/chocolate frosting too. I used half whole wheat pastry flour and 1/3 cup brown sugar in place of some of the white. The dough is very soft, and the cookies puff up in the oven and get a little flat when you take them out. I got 23 cookies out of this recipe using my Pampered Chef cookie scoop.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by What a Dish!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2008
I loved these cookies :D they were tedius but it was worth it.. the only thing i would change would be the icing it was kindof rich
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brittany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2009
Wow these cookies are great. Much better than I was expecting. The icing is AMAZING. Only change was using butter which caused the cookies to spread very thin but i like crispy so i just love these cookies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ABBIEA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by DarcieA
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2011
My husband describes these as "addictive!" I didn't have margarine on hand, so I substituted butter. The cookies came out perfectly soft. Next time, I do plan to use small marshmellows instead of going thru the trouble of cutting the large ones in half. For me, the frosting was too thick to spread as written. So, I just added more heavy cream until I got the texture I liked. These are RICH and satisfy the choc-o-holic in me! We will keep this recipe- thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DarcieA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2010
The cookie is good, but the icing did not turn out well. It was way too dry, even after adding more butter and cream. What a mess, trying to ice on top of the marshmallow! I will skip the marshmallow next time,and use a traditional fudge icing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Camarillo, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2008
I did about a 1" round scoop for each cookie and they turned out perfect. They were soft and yummy. I only made the cookie dough and used DARK cocoa powder and added white chocolate chips! They were VERY good this way!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2005
I was dissapointed.The cookies were quite a lot of work for cookies, and they tasted- dull. Perhaps they need more sugar. The dough expands a lot while in the oven, so give them space. Also, they end up flat and crispy- not what I was looking for. I used mini marshmallows at first, and then big marshmallow halves- either works. The frosting is good. I doubled the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BakingBot

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Reviewed: May 30, 2011
Loved it! A chocolate lover's dream! The only complaint I have was that it didn't make enough cookies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2001
So delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karin
Living In: Jamestown, North Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

No Cholesterol Chocolate Chip Cookies

These amazing cookies are good for the heart AND for the taste buds.

Chili Chocolate Cookies

See how a dash of cayenne pepper really draws out the chocolate flavor.

Cinnamon Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to make chocolate chip cookies with some cinnamon snap.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States