Chocolate Dream Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2001
Cake is very good but it took about an hour to bake, not 30 mins. as recipe says.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Yucaipa, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2009
I tried this recipe with a yellow cake mix and it was incredible! The marshmallows had a beautiful look after they rose and started to brown and turn just a bit hard. I would fully recommend trying this style of recipe with a yellow cake mix.. chocolate just seems a bit much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ana B.ee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fredericksburg, Virginia, USA
Living In: Rapid City, South Dakota, USA
Photo by bellydancer
Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2008
This cake is quite good served with whipped topping on top. Couldn't eat it plain though, it just needed something more. Without the whipped topping it would be a three star recipe. Something interesting that happens is the marshmallow end up on top, and the cherries end up on the bottom! It makes for a really ugly cake, but tastes good. I could possibly make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bellydancer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Traverse City, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2010
very easy.... rave reviews from the people at work! They loved it. slices nice. Next time will add a cup of chocolate chips and pecans on top toward the end of baking as I would want them to stay on top and not sink in. Will make again as it is very inexpensive to make too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 1SWILSON

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Marion, Indiana, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2009
I love this my grandmother makes this alot and now that I am so far from home I make it myself. It's so easy! But I agree with everyone else up the bake time to 60 min.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookinafwifey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jarrettsville, Maryland, USA
Living In: Harrogate, Yorkshire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2010
I have made this recipe many times when in a bind for a quick dessert. So easy to make and the cherry pie filling makes the cake super moist. Great with ice cream or Cool Whip. I've also experimented with using German Chocolate and Dark Chocolate cake mixes. All great! This is definitely one of my favorite recipes and wonderful for kids or the beginner cook!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2012
Super easy to make. I topped my cake with chocolate chips as soon as it came out of the oven and let them melt for a few minutes and then spread them over the cake. I topped with chopped nuts, too. Then when serving I topped it with whipped cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2007
Good cake but 100% better the 2nd day. Much more moist the next morning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2006
I'm not sure what happened with my cake, but it was a complete disaster!!! I cooked it for around an hour, according to the other reviews, but it sure didn't work! ALl the cherries stuck to the bottom of the pan and it wasn't cooked enough on the inside but burned on the outside! To top it off, the ruins didn't even taste okay! I had to make an emergency run to the store to buy a birthday pre-made cheesecake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rebecca Turner

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Greensburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Atsugi, Kanagawa, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2002
I made this recipe for my daughter's birthday. Her request was a cake without frosting. She loved,it very moist!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Minute Chocolate Mug Cake

See how to make delicious chocolate cake in the microwave.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States