Chocolate Dream Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2013
Great simple recipe. Perfect for a potluck event. Baking was closer to 45 minutes. Middle takes a little longer to cook than you might think.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2013
Tried this the other day...it is totally Delicious w/whipped cream on top!! But as others have said, it definitely needs to bake for an hour!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2013
This cake recipe is awesome! I've made this many times for family and friends and everyone was so surprise of how great it taste. And, it's so simple to make! Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Middletown, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2012
Super easy to make. I topped my cake with chocolate chips as soon as it came out of the oven and let them melt for a few minutes and then spread them over the cake. I topped with chopped nuts, too. Then when serving I topped it with whipped cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2011
This cake is soooo rich. The taste is good and moist, but it's extremely messy, and it's so heavy that you can only have a couple bites. I made this for Thanksgiving, and my family thought it was so-so. Only one person cleaned his plate, which is unusual in my family. It wasn't bad, but I probably won't make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2011
Great, quick option. Can be made with chocolate or yellow cake and cherry or blueberry pie filling to suit your tastes. Definitely has to be cooked closer to an hour than to 30 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2010
very easy.... rave reviews from the people at work! They loved it. slices nice. Next time will add a cup of chocolate chips and pecans on top toward the end of baking as I would want them to stay on top and not sink in. Will make again as it is very inexpensive to make too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 1SWILSON

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Marion, Indiana, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2010
I have made this recipe many times when in a bind for a quick dessert. So easy to make and the cherry pie filling makes the cake super moist. Great with ice cream or Cool Whip. I've also experimented with using German Chocolate and Dark Chocolate cake mixes. All great! This is definitely one of my favorite recipes and wonderful for kids or the beginner cook!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2010
Great with yellow cake mix. Also, needs to bake 60 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DEBIVEE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Waterloo, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2010
WOW! This was incredible. The cake was super moist and full of cherry flavor. Don't know where the marshmallows went but they did their job. The cherries were throughout the cake and not stuck to the bottom like a regular black forest cake. Thanks, Pat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Roanoke, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Minute Chocolate Mug Cake

See how to make delicious chocolate cake in the microwave.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States