Chocolate Dipping Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2014
I needed to cut this recipe in half but accidentally used the whole can of evaporated milk... Best baking accident ever. Came out more like the consistency of pudding, but was great for layering on cookies. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2013
I was hesitant to try this just because the picture doesn't look very chocolatey. But it was delicious!! It is thick but we liked it that way. Sooo yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2012
I am not a good cook. I followed this recipe exactly and it came out great. The sauce is thick but not like pudding; the chocolate stuck right to the strawberries we dipped into it and it was fabulous on ice cream. We really liked it and will make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2011
Great! Huge hit with grilled pineapple, mangoes and strawberries at a dinner party. Next time I might try this with a bit less sugar and a bit more cocoa powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2011
Awesome dipping sauce, I looked at some of the recent suggestions and based on those and prior cooking projects I used 1/2 c brown sugar and 1 c white sugar I also used 2% no name evap milk and no name cocoa, I eyeballed the vanilla :) Instead of letting the mixture come to a boil for 3 to 5 min I just let it start to boil and then turned it off cooking it enough to slightly thicken and knowing that when it cooled it would thicken a bit more. I also stirred it occasionally with a whisk until it was luke warm before I refrigerated it. It turned out perfect, no skin on top not the consistency of jello just a great dipping sauce that I would imagine goes perefect on just about anything, we used it for pecan pie drizzled on top and on a serve yourself fruit salad. This recipe is a real keeper and will never waste my money again on anything store bought. Thanks for sharing it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2010
I made this for dipping strawberries into. I didn't have any evaporated milk so I had to use whipping cream. LOL It was still really good, and the family could barely contain themselves through supper knowing this treat was waiting for them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: La Crosse, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2009
I am speechless, other than YUM!!!!!!!!!!!! don't change anything it is perfect thank you Annette
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Bloomington, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2007
All I can say is MMMMMM! This dipping sauce is a lot like chocolate pudding. I used fat free evaporated milk and added more as needed. Without the extra milk, it has a dark chocolate taste which is much too bitter for me. I served this with strawberries, bananas, angel food cake and graham crackers. One guy said "Now this is classy!" A must for any chocoholic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andrea  Alexander

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Redlands, California, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2006
I was looking for a chocolate sauce to put over my home made vanilla ice cream. THIS sauce ROCKS! I love it! I halved the recipe and omitted the butter. This one is definitely a KEEPER. Tastes delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2006
This is great for thsoe who really like a true chocolate taste. I prefer more of a milk chocolate flavor and found this slightly bitter, but it still worked out well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Easy Homemade Chocolate Sauce

See how to make delicious homemade chocolate sauce.

Satiny Chocolate Glaze

See how to make a delicious glossy glaze for cakes, cookies, and donuts.

Chocolate Ganache

See how to make rich homemade dark chocolate ganache.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States