Chocolate Dipped Orange Biscotti Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2007
This recipe would have gotten a much higher rating from me if it was accurate. It is clear, however, from the amount of flour, that it is not. One cup is barely enough to turn the one and a half eggs into a batter, much less a dough. I actually believe that this must be a typo, and that you need to use 2 cups. After adding an extra cup of flour, this recipe became a kneadable dough, and came out exactly as I would expect biscotti to come out, as a firm, dense cookie, and not-too-sweet taste. If I could, I'd mark four stars for taste, one star for inaccuracy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
156 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ZeroCreature

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2006
delicious biscotti! after reading all the reviews, i modified the recipe slightly. i added ~1/2 C more flour, a little more sugar and baking powder, 1 t orange extract, and 2 T oil. it was so easy to make- i can't wait to make it again! next time though, i'd make them a little smaller, so we get more cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2003
Outstanding Biscotti, Peg! The orange/chocolate combination makes a party for your tastebuds! I love this recipe. I didn't change a thing, followed your instructions to the letter and came out with perfect tasting and perfect looking cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2002
The dough was way too wet to handle but I molded it into a log and baked it anyway. It turned out great! Next time I will add just a bit more orange zest. My fussy father couldn't get enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sarahbelum
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2005
Not bad. Though, a warning: if you're planning on doubling (or tripling) this recipe, you'll need to add more flour -- until the dough becomes easy to handle. I didn't have almonds, used white chocolate chunks. Very orange-y.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sarahbelum

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2005
everytime I make these, They turn out wonderfully! Don't over back the log in the oven for too long, or I find it will crumble easily when cut into pieces. But the taste is amazing. Instead of dipping one whole side in chocolate, I have dipped an end in chocolate too (so that when dunked in coffee or hot chocolate) it tastes wonderful!!! I have also drizzled the chocolate over one side to give it a "professional" look like the ones in the stores. Everytime I make these they go fast. They're perfect for bake sales, cookie exchanges, or just to have around the house with your cup-o-jo!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STRLETT

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2005
I was very pleased with these and they got good reviews from my friends. I did add 1/2 tsp of orange extract because I wanted to make sure you could taste the orange flavor, and it seemed just right. I also rolled them in sliced almonds after dipping them in chocolate for decoration.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Germantown, Maryland, USA
Living In: Rockville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2007
Thanks for this great recipe. We like it best plain with just almonds and 1 tsp vanilla. The other change I made to the recipe is 1/2 tsp baking powder and no baking soda and it has a way better flavour. I also cut it thinner, about 1/2 inch slices on the diagonal. It lasts really well - I've even mailed it to my son in Serbia. He calls it "Mum's world famous biscotti."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2006
These are so fragrant and delicious! They have become my most popular hostess gift/tea party contribution. A perfect match for a steaming cup of Original Good Earth tea on a chilly afternoon. I have added the zest of one lemon in place of some of the orange zest to give the flavor a little twist. A nice variation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2005
Although I haven't tried these biscotti myself (I haven't gotten any away from my husband), my husband and all of our friends rave about them and have asked for the recipes. I think these are really simple to make and I just buy the chocolate dipping mix from the baking aisle. Makes it really easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 65) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Chocolate Macarons

See how to make little meringue sandwiches with a ganache filling.

Chocolate Crinkles II

See how to make chocolate cookies coated in confectioners' sugar.

No Cholesterol Chocolate Chip Cookies

These amazing cookies are good for the heart AND for the taste buds.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States