Chocolate Dipped Orange Biscotti Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2005
Great recipe except I had to add in about a cup, a cup and a half of flour because the dough was just too sticky. I think next time I'll brush some egg white on it to make the biscotti look more even instead of so grainy. Like I said, great recipe. Add in extra orange, vanilla, and cinnamon for an extra kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sarahbelum
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2005
Not bad. Though, a warning: if you're planning on doubling (or tripling) this recipe, you'll need to add more flour -- until the dough becomes easy to handle. I didn't have almonds, used white chocolate chunks. Very orange-y.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sarahbelum

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2005
everytime I make these, They turn out wonderfully! Don't over back the log in the oven for too long, or I find it will crumble easily when cut into pieces. But the taste is amazing. Instead of dipping one whole side in chocolate, I have dipped an end in chocolate too (so that when dunked in coffee or hot chocolate) it tastes wonderful!!! I have also drizzled the chocolate over one side to give it a "professional" look like the ones in the stores. Everytime I make these they go fast. They're perfect for bake sales, cookie exchanges, or just to have around the house with your cup-o-jo!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STRLETT

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2005
All I have to say is WOW! I had never tried biscotti before or attempted to make it, and I just LOVE these!! They have a delectable orange taste that blends perfectly with the chocolate. I didn't have bittersweet chocolate squares so I just melted down semi-sweet chocolate chips. Absolutely delicious, and I def. will make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Hackensack, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2005
I particularly liked this recipe since it yielded such a small amount, perfect for a dinner party and no risk of eating all the left overs. Very yummy. It has inspired me to try more. I also loved the lack of butter, making it a little bit more appearling
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2005
The dough is really a pain to work with, but it's well worth it. I baked it for a little less time than it called for (maybe 5-10 minutes less) to keep them a little less hard and they turned out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2005
This is an interesting, yet wonderful way to make biscotti. My family was begging for more when I made it following this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LynnInHK
Reviewed: May 18, 2005
This is very good. I made a double batch and it's almost all gone now. I especially like the chopped almond inside, and the orange flavor was enough IMHO. I think I would leave the biscottis in the oven overnight next time to make them more crispy before dipping into the chocolate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LynnInHK

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Centreville, Virginia, USA
Living In: Hong Kong, Hong Kong Island, Hong Kong

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2005
I opted for a couple of changes in this recipe. First, I squeezed some of the juice from the orange into the batter to enhance the orange flavor. Unfortunately, the flavor still wasn't all that noticeable, and I had to add more flour to compensate for the extra liquid. Second, I dipped the biscotti into semisweet melted chocolate chips instead of bittersweet squares. This was a decent recipe, but if I try it again I will add some orange extract or oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2005
Although I haven't tried these biscotti myself (I haven't gotten any away from my husband), my husband and all of our friends rave about them and have asked for the recipes. I think these are really simple to make and I just buy the chocolate dipping mix from the baking aisle. Makes it really easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 65) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Chocolate Macarons

See how to make little meringue sandwiches with a ganache filling.

Chocolate Crinkles II

See how to make chocolate cookies coated in confectioners' sugar.

No Cholesterol Chocolate Chip Cookies

These amazing cookies are good for the heart AND for the taste buds.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States