Chocolate Decadence Yule Log Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2002
Although I was pretty happy with the overall taste of this dessert and it got rave reviews, I probably won't make it again for a long time. The rolling part of the cake was very difficult and my "log" ended up looking rather beat up. However, the frosting covered it up enough to make it look presentable and all of my friends loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2004
This is a good, solid recipe. It assembled just as described - no problems. The cake is excellent and the icing received good to rave reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2004
This was awesome! I decided to fill the cake with all the frosting since it was a "to go" dessert~traveled well this way. The next time I made it I added Razzamatazz~cheaper then Chambord~instead of coffee liquior~turned out great. I might also just make a cream cheese filling like I do for my pumpkin rolls and sprinkle crushed peppermint candies over the cream cheese before rerolling! Or add cream de menthe and add the candies. The combinations are endless! Thanks for a great recipe :) I love the "wow" responses!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2005
Just use cream or butter cream and have a really good yule log you can enjoy,keep the cream cheese for bagels and cheese cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2005
Not a bad recipie, i changes the Coffee liqueur to a sweet rum to give it a warmer taste. We use this cake as the "kick off" for the night that all our guests arrive. Still looks appitizing even after you cut a piece off.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2005
Really tasty, easy to make, excellent flavor. It also freezes well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2005
I made this for a work party...everyone thought I got it at a bakery. Tasted great, looked great, and was surprisingly easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jill Goes Veg.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: South Easton, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Brighton, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2005
The instructions are clear and the taste devine. I recommend Starbucks Coffee Liquor! A new holiday favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2005
It was okay. The cake broke when I tried to roll it. The filling didn't stay in and I had a lot of extra. We don't eat things that are overly sweet, so the filling/frosting was too sweet for my family and started to make us feel sick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2005
This was exactly what I've been looking for for years. We traditionnally have a buche (or yule log) for Christmas, and I've tried many recipes before I reached what I was expecting with this one. It is so easy too. It took me less than one hour to have this one ready on my serving plate (if not for refrigeration time, of course). I used Bailey's as coffee liqueur, and its taste came out fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IVANDIEPART

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Brussels, Brussels, Belgium

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Chocolate Cappuccino Cheesecake

See how to make sinfully rich and chocolaty cheesecake.

Chocolate Lava Cake

Make rich and impressive single-serving chocolate cakes.

Garbanzo Bean Chocolate Cake (Gluten Free)

See how to make a tasty flourless chocolate cake that’s high protein.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States