Chocolate Decadence Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2000
I made this with dark chocolate, and it was a big hit. Took longer to bake, about 50 min. Absolutely wonderful with raspberry sauce!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2001
perfection!!!!!!! my boyfriend is now my slave!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2001
I followed the recipe exactly. I even used this expensive 70% bittersweet chocolate. The cake was dry and crumbly. It reminded me of dry fudge.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2002
Chocalholics need only to apply!! This dessert is a very rich concoction. Few ingredients and hardest part of the recipe is waiting for the chocolate to melt. Brought it into the office for reviews and most were very positive. I plan on serving this for an upcoming dinner party. I'm going to cover with a chocolate ganache, drizzle with raspberry sauce and serve with fresh whipped cream for presentation value.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2002
This recipe was fabulous tasting and so easy to make. I've had this kind of cake at coffee shops and always loved it. I had never even thought about being able to make it myself! This is best topped with raspberry, loganberry, or some other tart berry puree. I highly recommend this recipe for all chocoholics.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2003
This got rave reviews from all the guests. My only complaint was the lack of instructions with this recipe. When you say "whip the eggs & sugar to full volume" does that mean whisk? Are you using a stand mixer with whisk attachment? What does full volume mean? How long does that generally take? Should the cake be refrigerated before serving like other decadence cakes? The center of this cake didn't completely cook at 35 minutes and no chilling, but no one seemed to mind!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2005
Fantastic!!! This cake was VERY Chocolatey, sweet (but not too), moist (not wet), just about PERFECT. Taste like a dessert you'd have at a fine restaurant. This cake is great on its own, or dress it up with fresh whipped cream, berries, melted chocolate sauce (for chocoholics), rasberry sauce, whatever your hearts desire, it can handle it. The birthday girl (30+) I made it for, who's a chocoholic, absolutely loved it. As another reviewer wrote, it needed 50-minutes to cook, and I used a whisk instead of folding to incorporate everything.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2006
I am a Chocoleatier. I found this cake to be very dry and tasetless. I used 75% German chocolate and the result was not a keeper. All is not lost. I improvised with the product adding gansche and hot cream to the cake. I put the cake in a food processor and added the mix with flovoring. Great truffles. I would not make this cake again. Ken
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2009
I was served this cake over the holidays, it was amazing. I asked for the recipe, imagine my surprise when I was given a link to this recipe on-line. I can't wait to make this cake. Served with some warm raspberry sauce, it was heavenly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MKing

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Standish, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2009
Fantastic! I made this for one of the girls at work and it was a HUGE hit! It does only make one small cake but to be frank, it's VERY rich (as if the 4lbs of chocolate doesn't give THAT away!) so almost everyone in the office was able to snag a little piece. (I filled a pan w/ six little tulip-shapped slots and about a half a bread pan) One thing I did notice, anyone with a strong aversion to DARK chocolate gave a 'too rich' answer. To answer some questions added by a previous reviewer on instructions. When you whip (Unless you're looking for a REALLY good work out use a mixer, not a whisk!) sugar and egg the color will actually lighten a bit to a very soft yellow and it will about double in size. Basically blend the out of it and when it won't poof up anymore, you're there. :) This cake is also VERY easy to over bake which is what would make it dry! You can't do the toothpick test on this one since there is SO much chocolate, most of it won't completely solidify until it has cooled. As the instructions say use the poke test, it shouldn't be hard but as soon as there is resistance, take it out, you're done! I'm not sure about refrigerating, however, I had to because I baked it a day in advance and I didn't trust to leave it out w/ the dog all day but I FULLY Suggest warming it up when you serve it! It will be very fudge/brownie like when cold but softens right up again if you heat it up a little. I do also agree on the suggestion for using raspberries with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Biloxi, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Crystal Lake, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States