Chocolate Decadence Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Feb. 29, 2008
I've made several versions of this over the years. This is the best one. They all will be gooey and dense without the flour - however this one has that touch of texture similar to a brownie on top not quite crunchy - but a perfect combination with the softer center. I very much prefer to use all bittersweet chocolate - which translates to roughly 1 1/2 bags of the Gharadelli. Great quality chocolate for what's available at most grocery stores and it elevates it truly to restaurant quality dessert. I make either a blackberry or marionberry sauce to pool on the plate. Top with a thin sliver of the cake that is slightly warmed and a dollop of sweetened real whipped cream. Amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
70 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DAVIST

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2008
Incredibly rich, incredibly dense. Really marvelous when you top the chilled cake with whipped cream. I didn't have unsweetened chocolate, so I substituted 12 Tbsp unsweetened cocoa powder + 4 Tbsp canola oil and the cake still came out great. One friend commented, "It's the perfect marriage between mousse and fudge." How's that for a great review?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2008
I made 2 of these - one for a new mom that needed a gluten free meal and one for us since i wanted to try it. I *think* hers turned out but mine separated or something. I have a layer of chocolate and a layer of white goo on the bottom -- i have no idea what i did wrong - ugh -- i too kept rereading the recipe trying to figure out where the cream was supposed to go finally realizing it was for the topping
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2008
What a deliciously decadent cake! My husband could hardly keep from eating the whole thing. I had no problems with beating the whole eggs in my Kitchen-aid mixer. This cake went together in less steps than other flourless cakes I've made. The heart shaped pan I used was slightly smaller than what was called for so I put the leftover batter into ramekins that took slightly less time in the oven than the cake and shared them with our neighbors on Valentine's day. 8 people were unanimous...I'm to make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeannine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sycamore, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2008
Awesome! I had this for my birthday with a stout beer (Deschutes Brewery Abyss) it was to die for!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dani

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bend, Oregon, USA
Living In: Holualoa, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2008
um um good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2007
I know what you mean about the eggs. I tried this for the first time yesterday for my husband's hoiday party at work. The key to the eggs and getting them thick is to seperate the eggs. Beat the egg yolks and half of the sugar (meant for the eggs) and they get thick and creamy. Then do the same with the egg whites and the rest of the sugar. When you add the sugar for both, do it very slowly as you are whipping. Once the yolks are thick and creamy and the whites are at soft peaks, combine both of them and then add to the chocolate mixture. Also, the longer it cooks the better. I hope this helps. I also served it with fresh whipped cream just do break the richness. Enjoy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
142 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2007
I thought this cake was fantastic. I have wheat and dairy sensitivities, so I used a butter substitute and it was still perfect. I cooked it a bit longer, like other reviewers, and refrigerated overnight. (This was very important!) I served mine with a creme custard and mixed berries. It was delicious! Very rich! Perfect for this chocoholic -
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2007
This was the chocolate I was looking for. I put it in a 10in deep pie pan as I was unable to find a 10in cake pan and cooked it for 10 minutes longer. I will be making this for the two Christmas parties I am going to this month.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2007
I have searched high and low for a flourless chocolate cake recipe that is as good as the one we order at our favorite restaurant - this is it! We love it! Maybe my oven is not as hot, but i always have to bake it longer. And we think it just keeps getting better in the refrigerator - i've served it several days in a row and it never goes bad (although it is always eaten within a few days!!!) Great for a crowd or a entertaining two nights in a row!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 68) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Garbanzo Bean Chocolate Cake (Gluten Free)

See how to make a tasty flourless chocolate cake that’s high protein.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States