Chocolate Cut Out Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 13, 2000
Great chocolate taste
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by TIFFANYW81
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2008
I can't believe anyone gave this a bad review! I made them today and they are perfect. If you prepare properly, you should get a nice firm dough. It is a little sticky, so I sprayed my hands with no-stick spray when I was shaping them. Most important thing is to make sure you use 2 sticks of ROOM TEMPERATURE butter, NOT MELTED. just crush the butter into the sugar, and you will get a paste. Also make sure you mix all dry ingredients together in a seperate bowl, and then mix the dry a little at a time into the wet bowl. They are delicious. I added decorators icing and sprinkles. (I added a picture).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
68 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TIFFANYW81

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Land O Lakes, Florida, USA
Living In: Valrico, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2000
I made these cookies using a cross shaped cookies cutter to go along with the symbols used at Bible Shcool this week. They tasted like brownies and everyone enjoyed them very much. Thanks for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2007
Definately an awesome option for families that don't like sugar cookies, but want the fun of cut out cookies. I have made this several times and have figured out to use only 2 eggs if you have jumbo or extra large eggs. Also adding 1T more of Cocoa helps the dough consistancy. It does still need a fair amount of flour when rolling out. The final product tastes like mini brownies. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toledo, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2008
I should probably be giving these four stars, because I tweaked the original recipe, but they came out so good I'm giving them five! So, I only used two eggs, and about 2 1/2 cups flour. I refrigerated the dough, and then rolled the dough into small balls, rolled the balls in sugar and baked them for 7 minutes. They are soft and chewy, a chocolate version of soft molasses cookies! YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2001
I thought this recipe had a really good texture when you ate it i also loved how you can make this cookie for any ocassion just by using different cookie cutters.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2001
These cookies turned out wonderful. They roll and cut like a dream. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2002
Perfect! Just what I expected- and needed! These were great with butter-cream frosting. I needed more flour than the recipe called for, but that can depend on the brand of flour you use. Soft-baked, delicious flavor, easy to frost. Love these!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2008
For a simple, kid-friendly cut out cookie, this was perfect. I was looking for a rainy day activity to do with my 2.5-year-old and this worked great. It's easy for kids to help with (even young ones) and tastes good with milk. It's not an amazing company cookie or anything, but for my goals I'd do it again! ETA: I forgot to mention that I did have to use the powdered sugar/cocoa mix to prevent sticking that another reviewer suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Olathe, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by KingsHorses
Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2008
I really like this recipe. I had no trouble with the dough being too sticky at all. I used 2/3 cup butter and 1/3 cup shortening and I refrigerated the dough overnight. I did not alter the recipe other than the butter and I made sure that the sugar, butter and shortening were WELL mixed (until light an fluffy - about 6 minutes). The flavor and texture was pretty good and the kids really liked them. I made them for son's school Halloween party. Thanks for sharing the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KingsHorses

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Gahanna, Ohio, USA
Living In: Centerburg, Ohio, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 69) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Cinnamon Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to make chocolate chip cookies with some cinnamon snap.

No Cholesterol Chocolate Chip Cookies

These amazing cookies are good for the heart AND for the taste buds.

Chocolate Mint Candies Cookies

Bake your favorite thin chocolate mints into these melt-in-your-mouth cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States