Chocolate Cut Out Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2008
For a simple, kid-friendly cut out cookie, this was perfect. I was looking for a rainy day activity to do with my 2.5-year-old and this worked great. It's easy for kids to help with (even young ones) and tastes good with milk. It's not an amazing company cookie or anything, but for my goals I'd do it again! ETA: I forgot to mention that I did have to use the powdered sugar/cocoa mix to prevent sticking that another reviewer suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Olathe, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2008
I should probably be giving these four stars, because I tweaked the original recipe, but they came out so good I'm giving them five! So, I only used two eggs, and about 2 1/2 cups flour. I refrigerated the dough, and then rolled the dough into small balls, rolled the balls in sugar and baked them for 7 minutes. They are soft and chewy, a chocolate version of soft molasses cookies! YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2008
A little more sticky than I would like to make cutouts but was still able to make them. They tasted pretty good too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Willingboro, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Schweinfurt, Bayern, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2007
Definately an awesome option for families that don't like sugar cookies, but want the fun of cut out cookies. I have made this several times and have figured out to use only 2 eggs if you have jumbo or extra large eggs. Also adding 1T more of Cocoa helps the dough consistancy. It does still need a fair amount of flour when rolling out. The final product tastes like mini brownies. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toledo, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2006
This recipe was okay. I guess it is a nice change from traditional sugar cookies. I did have to add much more flour to make it a consistency that could be rolled out. By following the recipe as written I had a dough with the consistency of frosting - even after refrigeration.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Clare, Michigan, USA
Living In: Seaside, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2006
I read the reviews and added one extra cup of flour and they were still too soft (even after chilling all afternoon) to roll. So, I rolled between two sheets of wax paper, used cutter, removed excess, froze the cookies until solid and only then baked. They still didn't hold a fairly simple cut out shape. The no-fail sugar cookie recipe at cakecentraldotcom is much, much better. I think this recipe has too much egg and that's why it's so soft. I'll keep looking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2006
These taste really good but need about a cup more flour. After reading other reviews I added 1/2 cup flour to the dough and still needed lots of flour to roll them out. I will try making sandwich cookies with them next time, sandwiched with a chocolate, caramel or peanut butter frosting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2006
I have been baking cookies for about 24 years. I have been making these particular cookies of Robin J for about 3 years. They are delicous. I found that the dough is very sticky. To help that I mix up a combo of confectioners sugar and cocoa. sprinkle that HEAVY on the cutting board. Then I sprinkle that same mixture very heavy on the dough that I have placed on the cutting board. That helps tremendously. My family loves these and begs me to make them. I frost them using a marshmallow creme frosting. Delicous and something not everyone else makes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
85 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Gal Benron
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2006
These were nice enough for 5 year-old birthday party. They're easy to roll and cut, the flavor is very agreeable. Nothing gourmet about it, though, so will stick to making cute chocolate ducks for kids.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gal Benron

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Haifa, Mehoz Hefa, Israel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2005
I didn't have time to cool the dough in the fridge, so I just added some more flour. It was very moist. For me this made more than 12 - 6 big and 16 small, so about 15 big. But very nice! Times were about right for the larger ones. Lovely warm with a yummy soft centre. Thank you - what a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FADEDDREAMS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Braintree, Essex, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 69) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cinnamon Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to make chocolate chip cookies with some cinnamon snap.

No Cholesterol Chocolate Chip Cookies

These amazing cookies are good for the heart AND for the taste buds.

Chocolate Mint Candies Cookies

Bake your favorite thin chocolate mints into these melt-in-your-mouth cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States