Chocolate Cut Out Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2008
I was so disappointed! The dough tasted incredible (I know we're not supposed to eat the dough) but it was incredibly sticky! I had to add so much flour & cocoa powder to make it easy to roll & cut, the cookies ended up tasting very plain.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sheila T

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Levittown, New York, USA
Living In: Wakefield, Rhode Island, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2008
Follow the reviews on this recipe! Dough was very sticky and I thought this would be a lost project, but after adding generous amounts of flour/cocoa powder for rolling, rolling between wax paper and chilling in the freezer then these cutouts came out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2008
my family and i LOVED these cookies. i followed the advice of one of the ladies by rolling them out in cocoa and powdered sugar...this really amped the flavor. actually, i wasn't expecting this to be as tasty as everyone said they were. i'm a chocoholic, and i vouch for these cookies! i used a dog bone cookie cutter and served them in a dog dish for our UHF party. they were a hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2008
I really wish that I had NOT followed the suggestions of other reviewrs by removing one egg from this recipe. The cookies were too dry. I would have given them a 5 (figuring on making them correctly) but the chocolate flavor is not quite what I was looking for. I might give these one more try with all 3 eggs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Granbury, Texas, USA
Living In: Dallas - Ft. Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2008
This is a great recipe for cut out cookies if you're tired of the typical sugar cookie cut outs. The dough rolled out wonderfully and cuts beautifuly. Everyone in my household couldn't stop eating them, I fosted them with a simple buttercream frosting. This is a great recipe to use with children because the dough won't fall apart when using cookie cuters. It's easy to handle and fun because it's brown not white!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Momster
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2008
With a few modifications based on other reviews, I made these cookies for the first time with much success. They were very very easy and delicious. The only changes that I made were: 1) I used two large eggs (not three); 2) I added one extra TBSP of cocoa; 3) Because I was in a hurry, I chilled them for about an hour in the freezer. Once I removed them from the freezer, I immediately cut the dough in half and put half back into the refrigerator while I rolled and cut the first half. It worked like a dream. Highly recommend this recipe and these cookies. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
72 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Momster

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2008
I was very disappointed with this recipe. Even after the required 2 hours of chilling, it was way too soft to make decent cut-out cookies--very frustrating. I would strongly encourage anyone looking for an easy rolled out chocolate cookie recipe to keep looking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by KingsHorses
Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2008
I really like this recipe. I had no trouble with the dough being too sticky at all. I used 2/3 cup butter and 1/3 cup shortening and I refrigerated the dough overnight. I did not alter the recipe other than the butter and I made sure that the sugar, butter and shortening were WELL mixed (until light an fluffy - about 6 minutes). The flavor and texture was pretty good and the kids really liked them. I made them for son's school Halloween party. Thanks for sharing the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KingsHorses

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Gahanna, Ohio, USA
Living In: Centerburg, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2008
this recipe did not work well for me at all. the dough was so moist even after adding a little extra flour it was like trying to roll out and cut fudge. a waste of time and money.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by TIFFANYW81
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2008
I can't believe anyone gave this a bad review! I made them today and they are perfect. If you prepare properly, you should get a nice firm dough. It is a little sticky, so I sprayed my hands with no-stick spray when I was shaping them. Most important thing is to make sure you use 2 sticks of ROOM TEMPERATURE butter, NOT MELTED. just crush the butter into the sugar, and you will get a paste. Also make sure you mix all dry ingredients together in a seperate bowl, and then mix the dry a little at a time into the wet bowl. They are delicious. I added decorators icing and sprinkles. (I added a picture).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
67 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TIFFANYW81

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Land O Lakes, Florida, USA
Living In: Valrico, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 69) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Cinnamon Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to make chocolate chip cookies with some cinnamon snap.

No Cholesterol Chocolate Chip Cookies

These amazing cookies are good for the heart AND for the taste buds.

Chocolate Mint Candies Cookies

Bake your favorite thin chocolate mints into these melt-in-your-mouth cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States