Chocolate Cut Out Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2012
They tasted alright, and were good for putting into forms, but they couldn't be rolled or cut. At all. The dough sat in my refrigerator for 2 days and was still not hard enough to reasonably work with. No matter what I did, when I tried to take the cut out cookies off of my work space (I used plenty of flour and eventually switched to wax paper)they were stuck so bad that there was no way to get them off the work space that didn't involve destroying them. I tried for 2 hours (keeping the dough chilled when not using it), and got a grand total of three passable cookies. Maybe if they were the best cookies in the world I'd go through this trouble, but they simply weren't that good and the dough was impossible to work with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Clifton Park, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2012
Recipe worked out good with no modifications. I chilled my dough overnight and didn't have any issue with sticking. I rolled some out with flour and some with cocoa and powdered sugar. I think the cocoa and powdered sugar is better. Also, the cookies needed salt. They come out a bit flat without it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2012
Oh my goodness, I am glad I only made 12 (and have roommates) otherwise these would all be eaten without a pause. I used 2/3 cup of cocoa (because it was easier) and I rolled balls and sprinkled some with icing sugar, some I dipped in a sugar/cinnamon mix. SOOOOOO good. Next time I might add some cayanne to the cinnamon sugar for a bit of bite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elizabeth Abbott

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2012
I agree that 2 eggs work best. I used different sized cutters, the smaller leaves worked well and the cow was bigger and I had to be really careful. A wide, thin metal spatula worked to remove the cookies after letting them cool a few minutes. I will substitute some of the butter with buttery flavored shortening next time. I also baked at 375 F for 8 minutes, took the top pan out, put the bottom pan on the top rack and baked it one or two more minutes. I find the cookie doughs that taste the best don't always cut and cool well, but this is a nice compromise.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2012
I halved the recipe and got 60 2 inch circles. I doubled the cocoa and added more flour until the dough was no longer sticky, I mixed the flour in by hand so I wouldn't add too much. The dough has to chill overnight, when I checked it a few hours later it was not firm enough. The next morning I needed minimal flour to roll out as it was easy to work with. Mine baked 12 minutes on Silpat lined sheets.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by the4taals

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Owen Sound, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2012
I cut the recipe in half and only used one egg and 7 Tbsp. of cocoa powder (instead of 5). The cookies came out very chocolatey, just the way I like them, and were generally tasty. The added chocolate did not make them too sweet, and I think they'd benefit from something like the Seven-Minute Frosting on this site, or some other marshmallowey topping. I used a little flour to roll them out, and had no problems at all with stickiness. I put the dough in a tupperware in the freezer for about 30 minutes to speed up chilling time, and only used half of it (1/4 recipe makes about 8 decent-sized cookies). Then I refrigerated the rest and will use it up within the next few days. I baked the cookies for exactly 10.5 minutes, but they were just a bit dry, so 8-9 might have sufficed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2012
i was very happy with this recipe.... i made these for a very big children's Christmas cookie party and it was a hit.... the shapes stayed perfectly in tact and the chocolate flavor was great. i thought i would have some trouble because some kids added a ridiculous amount of flour when they rolled them out but after we baked them they were all moist and soft not hard as a rock like other recipes i have tried... will def use this recipe again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rocio Lewis

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2011
Very disappointed - I doubled the recipe cause we were having a christmas cookie decorating night with 25 kids and the batter after being refrigerated over night was sticky and barely could roll it out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2011
Very easy to make puffed up nice kept there shape an most important tasted good!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by missrochester

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2011
The dough was very sticky and extremely difficult to work with. I ended up rolling them into balls and baking them. The cookie itself had a good taste my whole family thought they tasted great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bigmommahill

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 71) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cinnamon Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to make chocolate chip cookies with some cinnamon snap.

Chocolate Mint Candies Cookies

Bake your favorite thin chocolate mints into these melt-in-your-mouth cookies.

Chocolate Snowcap Cookies

See how to make a fudgy, chocolate cookie with powdered sugary snowcaps.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States