Chocolate Cut Out Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2012
Oh my goodness, I am glad I only made 12 (and have roommates) otherwise these would all be eaten without a pause. I used 2/3 cup of cocoa (because it was easier) and I rolled balls and sprinkled some with icing sugar, some I dipped in a sugar/cinnamon mix. SOOOOOO good. Next time I might add some cayanne to the cinnamon sugar for a bit of bite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2012
I agree that 2 eggs work best. I used different sized cutters, the smaller leaves worked well and the cow was bigger and I had to be really careful. A wide, thin metal spatula worked to remove the cookies after letting them cool a few minutes. I will substitute some of the butter with buttery flavored shortening next time. I also baked at 375 F for 8 minutes, took the top pan out, put the bottom pan on the top rack and baked it one or two more minutes. I find the cookie doughs that taste the best don't always cut and cool well, but this is a nice compromise.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2012
I halved the recipe and got 60 2 inch circles. I doubled the cocoa and added more flour until the dough was no longer sticky, I mixed the flour in by hand so I wouldn't add too much. The dough has to chill overnight, when I checked it a few hours later it was not firm enough. The next morning I needed minimal flour to roll out as it was easy to work with. Mine baked 12 minutes on Silpat lined sheets.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by the4taals

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Owen Sound, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2012
I cut the recipe in half and only used one egg and 7 Tbsp. of cocoa powder (instead of 5). The cookies came out very chocolatey, just the way I like them, and were generally tasty. The added chocolate did not make them too sweet, and I think they'd benefit from something like the Seven-Minute Frosting on this site, or some other marshmallowey topping. I used a little flour to roll them out, and had no problems at all with stickiness. I put the dough in a tupperware in the freezer for about 30 minutes to speed up chilling time, and only used half of it (1/4 recipe makes about 8 decent-sized cookies). Then I refrigerated the rest and will use it up within the next few days. I baked the cookies for exactly 10.5 minutes, but they were just a bit dry, so 8-9 might have sufficed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2012
i was very happy with this recipe.... i made these for a very big children's Christmas cookie party and it was a hit.... the shapes stayed perfectly in tact and the chocolate flavor was great. i thought i would have some trouble because some kids added a ridiculous amount of flour when they rolled them out but after we baked them they were all moist and soft not hard as a rock like other recipes i have tried... will def use this recipe again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2011
Very disappointed - I doubled the recipe cause we were having a christmas cookie decorating night with 25 kids and the batter after being refrigerated over night was sticky and barely could roll it out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2011
Very easy to make puffed up nice kept there shape an most important tasted good!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by missrochester

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2011
The dough was very sticky and extremely difficult to work with. I ended up rolling them into balls and baking them. The cookie itself had a good taste my whole family thought they tasted great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bigmommahill

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2011
These are great FRESH. Easy recipe. Crumbly dough but that could be b/c it's July & not super cool in my house. I used another reviewer's advice & used powdered sugar on the dough to keep it from stickin to my rollin pin... GREAT TIP!! Definitely roll your dough on the thick side, otherwise these cookies get extremely crunchy after they're cooled. I used 11 Tbsp of the cocoa powder... DID NOT NEED THAT MUCH. Iced some of the cookies w/ a basic glaze. DID NOT NEED ICING. The icing made them too sweet! My kids & their friends definitely liked them better with NO ICING. These have been requested EVERY SINGLE NIGHT THIS WEEK since I first made them!! Luckily, I only bake enough to soothe everyone at one time, so I've had dough in the fridge all week!! Thanks for a great treat for my family & friends!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Yaira

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jackson, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Braxton, Mississippi, USA
Photo by footballgrl16
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2011
I was really weary of this recipe, because others had so many problems. With a few tweaks, this is great recipe for chocolate cut outs! I only used 2 eggs, added 2 T extra cocoa powder, and added 1/2 tsp salt. With any cut out recipe, you have to chill the dough properly in order to prevent stickiness. I used plain flour to roll them out, and it didn't affect the color or taste at all (instead of cocoa and sugar others suggested). I also decided to bake these at 375 for 7-8 minutes, like my other sugar cookie recipe. I loved the chocolate, tastes very close to a brownie type cookie. Will def keep as an alternate to regular sugar cookies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by footballgrl16

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 69) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cinnamon Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to make chocolate chip cookies with some cinnamon snap.

No Cholesterol Chocolate Chip Cookies

These amazing cookies are good for the heart AND for the taste buds.

Chocolate Mint Candies Cookies

Bake your favorite thin chocolate mints into these melt-in-your-mouth cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States