Chocolate Cut Out Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Photo by CookieBrigette
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2010
I had tremendous success with these. I did use only 2 eggs as other suggested but did not have sticky dough and they were really delicious. Give them a try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookieBrigette

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2010
Full chocolate taste. I rolled the dough to 1/4" thickness between two pieces of waxed paper, put it in the refrigerator that way for less than 20 minutes and took it out and it was ready for cookie cutters. No problem! No mess. No dilution from flour/sugar/cocoa powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Salisbury, Maryland, USA
Living In: Albany, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JPMJ
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2010
I am not really a fan of sugar cookies so I am glad to have found a tasty cut-out alternative. I halved the recipe and got 24 owl cookies. I used one egg as 1 1/2 would be difficult, and if making the whole batch 2 would be enough. The dough was not too sticky as others had complained. I mixed flour and cocoa to roll it out with and didn't really need very much to do so. It is quite nice to work with, actually. Do roll them thick; they stay moist and aren't too fragile.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JPMJ

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Comox, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2010
These are AMAZING and worked perfectly even though I substituted gluten free flour which can usually end up ruining a recipe. They retained the cutter shape really well even with delicate shapes and didn't crack.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by meganeloise

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2009
Just tried these yesterday and the recipe is VERY good. But I agree with the comments and followed them. If you plan to make this - use only 2 eggs and not 3! Instead of 1 cup butter, use 2 sticks (220gms) and baking time is about 8 to 10 mins and NOT 10 to 12 as it burns quickly. Other than that - a SUPER recipe that is accurate and easy to follow. Merry X'mas one and all!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by elainey

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2009
This is a great recipe. As suggested by others, I only added 2 eggs and 1 extra tablespoon of cocoa and the dough was the perfect consistency for rolling. The cookies were exactly what I wanted. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alexis

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Steubenville, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lyndhurst, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2009
I didn't like these...they tasted weird and chemically. Other people thought they were ok, most said they were neither bad nor good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bronx, New York, USA
Living In: Buffalo, New York, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2009
An awesome recipe AS IS!! After reading the reviews, I starting tweaking the recipe with disasterous results. Because I was making this for a back-to-school special for the local Kindergarten teacher, I had to make them again. This time I followed the directions as written and they came out perfect. Things I did do were: used the 3 (large)eggs, reduced the vanilla to 1 tsp, and really packed the flour into the measuring cup - usually I spoon the flour but didn't in this case. 10 Tbsp of cocoa is just a hair over 2/3 c so I put in the 2/3 c of cocoa. The dough came out perfect - even tho we didn't mix in all of the flour and cocoa powder in the end - this is because my son turned the mixer on high just after I added some of the flour mixture and blew brown powder all over the kitchen - so I may have been lacking 1/4 c of that mixture, I am not sure! I did sift 1/3 c cocoa powder and 1/3 c powdered sugar together and used that to flour my rolling surface. 10 minutes baked on parchment paper made absolutely beautiful and perfect cookies. A definite keeper of a recipe with the results tasting like Nabisco's Famous Chocolate Wafers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Trinka G

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: Petersburg, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2009
Great recipe. I frosted them with melted chocolate chips. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Denitomi

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2009
These turned out great. But PLEASE roll in cocoa powder/confectioners sugar as well as chill in fridge to get the right consistency. I made hearts and they held up perfectly and tasted so good. I also used only 2 eggs instead of 3.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LJANAY44

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 69) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cinnamon Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to make chocolate chip cookies with some cinnamon snap.

No Cholesterol Chocolate Chip Cookies

These amazing cookies are good for the heart AND for the taste buds.

Chocolate Mint Candies Cookies

Bake your favorite thin chocolate mints into these melt-in-your-mouth cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States