Chocolate Cut Out Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Photo by SUZZANNA
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2011
I followed the recipe, but added 1 tsp. of salt. I chilled the dough over 3 hours. It was fairly sticky, but I used a lot of flour when rolling it out and I didn't roll the cookies too thin, so it wasn't a problem. They were done in about 9 mins. They tasted pretty good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SUZZANNA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ezmars
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2010
I used carob instead of cocoa because I think it makes them "darker." I mixed in all 3 eggs but was generous with the flour and the carob/sugar mixture I used to roll them out on parchment paper. I also iced them with mint icing! Very easy, very tatsty, look great, taste great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ezmars

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2010
These were really good. Tasted like a brownie. I had no problem with the dough being sticky. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jacque

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Clovis, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Fayetteville, Arkansas, USA
Photo by Jessica
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2010
These were amazing! I made them for a Halloween Party and they were gone by the end of the night!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Emeryville, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2010
Loved these. Went with previous suggestions to go with 2 eggs, 11 tablespoons of cocoa powder and used a mix of predominantly powdered sugar and a bit of flour to roll them out. Definitely comes out best to get your rolled dough out to 1/4 inch high. That's the perfect height, though thinner cookies with their crisp were mighty fine too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2010
The dough was great! Easy to roll out between cling wrap! Other than cutting down the sugar to 1c, I followed the rest of the recipe and they turned out wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2010
used 2 sticks butter & 1 extra tsp cocoa turned out fine, not sticky. only problem i had my cookies kept breaking. maybe i made them too thin?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by vannahsmiles
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2010
I followed this recipe to the T. I had no problem at all with the dough consistency, everything was great. But honestly, they taste like cardboard. They're bearable with the icing but without it I don't care for them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2010
I wanted to comment on the post that the cookies tasted 'chemically'. I had this problem with so many recipes and found out they all had one thing in common, they all called for baking powder. Upon researching, the taste you are experiencing is from the aluminum in the baking powder. I am very sensitive to the taste but no one else in my family is, they think I am nuts, lol. The sensitivity to the taste has gotten worse as I get older (35). I only use Argo Baking Powder (aluminum free) and it has made a world of difference. Hope this helps others out there!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IBREAKNRUN

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2010
i had no troubles with these at all. it's a must to use room temp marg/butter. i rolled these into balls, flattened them out a little and rolled in some sprinkles. very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amanda h.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 69) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cinnamon Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to make chocolate chip cookies with some cinnamon snap.

Chocolate Mint Candies Cookies

Bake your favorite thin chocolate mints into these melt-in-your-mouth cookies.

Chocolate Snowcap Cookies

See how to make a fudgy, chocolate cookie with powdered sugary snowcaps.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States