Chocolate Cupcakes with Caramel Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2012
These are sooooooooo melt-in-your-mouth delicious! My oven may be off but I baked them for only 13-14 minutes and they were done to perfection! The icing was wonderful and complemented the delicate cupcakes ideally! I am serving them to some ladies tomorrow and just hope they aren't all eaten by the time the guests arrive! I used about 1/3 c. of cocoa powder and light mayo. They are easy to make, too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2012
SU-FRIGGIN-PERB. I dont rate often so... I was terrified of the mayo - but its really eggs, oil and vinegar. These are so light and fluffy and not too sweet. Sinful. Used valhrona cocoa ( little bit more) and raspberry jam. Havent even got to the frosting but these are excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2012
very good recipe would need a bit more description on how to make the caramel icing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Blonde Baker
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2012
AMAZING!!! Extremely moist and delicate. I didn't make the frosting but made a mocha frosting instead. Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blonde Baker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2011
The cupcakes themselves are a solid 5. They're moist, delicious and not too sweet. The frosting, however, was only ok. It came out more like a glaze and I had to add a lot of powdered sugar to thicken it up. Then it was too stiff. I think that next time, I will pour it from the pan into my stand mixer and see if I can get it whipped better that way. It tastes like the glaze they put on maple bars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2011
These cupcakes worked wonderfully! I'm surprised to see so many people unsatisfied with the frosting! It was delicious and and was a wonderful consistency... Although I did use whipping cream instead of half and half- maybe that was the difference it needed! Happy Baking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2011
These cupcakes are really moist, even straight out of the fridge. Also tried making them vegan: subbed 1 cup of soy mayo plus one tablespoon of vegetable (soy) oil, and they came out equally moist and good. Made marshmallow frosting instead of the one here, and toasted each marshmallow top with a kitchen torch. Yum (and can be done ahead). One thing for next time: let the grape jelly come to room temp before adding to the batter, otherwise there will be little chunks of it throughout the batter instead of it getting fully incorporated. One more thing: some reviewers here had trouble with chunks of fruit in the preservers they used messing up the consistency of the finished product. The recipe calls for jelly (made from fruit juice), not jam or other preserves which can include pieces of the fruit itself. The cheapest store-brand grape jelly works great! No chunks, just perfectly smooth and clear, like grape jello almost. *After making this recipe many times (cake only, not the frosting): doubling the recipe will make enough for three cake layers. Not sure why I ever bothered with more complicated recipes. This is as moist and delicious as it gets. But, do sift the dry ingredients. Otherwise, you may notice little white clumps in the cake. Have made this as a layer cake: carved out a "shelf" from the top of two of the layers with a serrated knife, and filled them with some homemade pudding (caramel, banana, etc.). Then, assembled, with whipped cream frosting. Ridiculous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EverSince

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2011
Hmm... well i knew that mayonaise is the secret ingredient to many a great cake recipes, but these cupcakes were lacking in flavor. They were super moist and dense, but I was wanting more of a chocolate flavor. They are kind of bland. Will have to be sure to use a very chocolatey frosting i suppose
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by c00kie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2011
I'm not sure what happened, but to my complete frustration, these stuck to the pan like a mother, and did not work out at all. The crumbled bits tasted pretty good, but they had a very inconsistent texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2011
The cake recipe was great. Was not a huge fan of the frosting recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 56) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Carrot Cupcakes with White Chocolate Icing

Moist carrot cupcakes with a cream cheese and white chocolate frosting.

Dark Chocolate Bacon Cupcakes

Discover what the smoky taste of bacon can do for dark chocolate.

Chocolate Cupcakes

These cupcakes are moist, delicious, and easy to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States