Chocolate Cupcakes with Caramel Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2012
The cupcakes were very moist, but had a bitter after-taste. I tried this recipe twice because I really wanted it to work -- and I even bought new cocoa thinking the cocoa had gone bad. Second time around they still tasted very bitter. I can't speak for the frosting because I already had some made from a different recipe, but the cupcakes by themselves were not tasty... but yes very moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2012
My eleven year old made these all by himself! They were great. I did find that they could have been cooked a few minutes longer. And the frosing made way too much - but who doesn't love leftover frosting so you have to make something else to use it up!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2012
Cake is light and moist, flavor is so-so, but the frosting is out of this world. Tastes like fluffy praline. I'll definitely be using the frosting if nothing else in the future!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2012
I only made the icing for another chocolate cupcake I made, but it turned out great. I had whipping cream, not half and half, but turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jackie C

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Claridge, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Ooltewah, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Ms.Geena
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2012
I made this for my mom's birthday and it was delicious. The frosting is so good, it melts in your mouth. I plan on using it with other recipes as well. I added cut up strawberries on top and it was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2012
I only made the cake part of this recipe not the frosting. The cupcake was delicious. It was moist and not too sweet. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2012
Moist and delicious! Used a coconut frosting instead by putting one can of coconut milk in the fridge overnight, then mixing it with cocoa powder and sugar, and refridgerating it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2012
Perfect! Delicious and moist cake. My family LOVED it! I didn't make the icing because my family prefers a cream cheese icing that I make. I didn't change anything except for using two round cake pans instead of cupcakes. Will definately make again! Thanks for the yummy recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2012
These cupcakes were not good. They didn't have nearly enough chocolate flavor and the jelly never disolved. There was no mention of using baters or a mixer, so I just used a wooden spoon, so my cupcakes have globs of jelly that rose to the top. Will not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Bristol, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2012
These are sooooooooo melt-in-your-mouth delicious! My oven may be off but I baked them for only 13-14 minutes and they were done to perfection! The icing was wonderful and complemented the delicate cupcakes ideally! I am serving them to some ladies tomorrow and just hope they aren't all eaten by the time the guests arrive! I used about 1/3 c. of cocoa powder and light mayo. They are easy to make, too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 55) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Plan Your Easter Brunch
Plan Your Easter Brunch

Breakfast casseroles, drinks, fancy eggs, and brunch ideas for a sweet Easter event.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Carrot Cupcakes with White Chocolate Icing

Moist carrot cupcakes with a cream cheese and white chocolate frosting.

Dark Chocolate Bacon Cupcakes

Discover what the smoky taste of bacon can do for dark chocolate.

Chocolate Cupcakes

These cupcakes are moist, delicious, and easy to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States