Chocolate Cupcakes with Caramel Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2012
I have used this recipe probably a dozen times now, all with incredible success. I have to admit I've never made the frosting for this- I prefer cream cheese frosting- but the cake for this is spot-on. I've altered it a few times to suit my needs and personal taste, resulting in a cake I ALWAYS get compliments on. As of this very second I'm using said alternative recipe to make a 4-tier wedding cake for a friend's wedding. This is an AMAZING recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2012
these were the bomb!!!! at least the cupcake part (didn't use the caramel frosting). Made these for my son's end of season basketball game and those kids LOVED them (adults loved them too). I used the fresh strawberries frosting on some and my mother-in-law's cream cheese frosting on the rest which I decorated as a basketball :) thank you for sharing the recipe!! Almost forgot, I did make a little addition to the recipe, we LOVE chocolate so I "sprinkled" a few chocolate chips into each cupcake before baking ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Daniellie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lightedway
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2012
These cupcakes were ok but not a favorite. The cake was not chocolatey enough. It was moist and domed nicely. The frosting wouldn't fluff up for me despite following the directions carefully. Surprisingly this frosting was not to my liking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lightedway

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Niantic, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2012
Haven't made the frosting yet, but the cupcakes are the quickest, easiest around, and my chocoholic husband loved them. I usually get 12 of the large cupcakes and two trays of mini-cupcakes size from this recipe. A quick note: someone was disappointed because the cupcakes failed when she tried to substitute yogurt for the mayonnaise. When you see mayo in a baking recipe, it it almost always taking the place of the oil and the eggs, as in this recipe. Mayonnaise has both oil and eggs in it; yogurt has neither one, so of course it will not work as a substitute.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2012
Sensational! Up'd the cocoa powder to 2/3 cup, MUST HAVE CHOCOLATE!! left everything else the same (esp I only use WW flour) and they were dense and rich and a perfect cupcake shape! It made 15 reg size muffins. I made the frosting as well, and it was just ok - It didn't set up super great and wasn't overly carmel-ly, but still a great addition to the cupcake. Will def make again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by squarepear

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ingalls, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2012
Very good cupcake ,would prefer more chocolatey.I tweeked the frosting,added a little more powdered sugar and some organic all vegetable shortening to get it a little thicker.And i love large grain sea salt on my caramels ,so i sprinkled with it....delish
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2012
I'm not 100% sure what I did wrong here, the flavor was great but the cupcakes turned out chewy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2012
The cupcakes were very moist, but had a bitter after-taste. I tried this recipe twice because I really wanted it to work -- and I even bought new cocoa thinking the cocoa had gone bad. Second time around they still tasted very bitter. I can't speak for the frosting because I already had some made from a different recipe, but the cupcakes by themselves were not tasty... but yes very moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2012
My eleven year old made these all by himself! They were great. I did find that they could have been cooked a few minutes longer. And the frosing made way too much - but who doesn't love leftover frosting so you have to make something else to use it up!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2012
Cake is light and moist, flavor is so-so, but the frosting is out of this world. Tastes like fluffy praline. I'll definitely be using the frosting if nothing else in the future!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 11-20 (of 52) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Carrot Cupcakes with White Chocolate Icing

Moist carrot cupcakes with a cream cheese and white chocolate frosting.

Dark Chocolate Bacon Cupcakes

Discover what the smoky taste of bacon can do for dark chocolate.

Chocolate Cupcakes

These cupcakes are moist, delicious, and easy to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States