Chocolate Crinkles IV Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2006
I think the people who rated these poorly must be doing something wrong. I've used this recipe for years (without the chocolate chips - it's the Betty Crocker one) and they are fantastic! There are two important steps to getting these to turn out right - first, you have to chill them thoroughly - either the four hours in the fridge or one or two in the freezer - or they'll turn out flat. Baking time is super important and took years for me to get down! They should be still squishy but not glossy - they'll firm up to be chewy on the inside with a crispy shell.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Shoreline, Washington, USA
Living In: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2008
These cooked up perfectly after about 1.5 hrs of freezing the dough in the metal mixing bowl. Roll each cookie in plenty of powdered sugar before baking for the "crinkle" look as the cookies will absorb some while baking. 12 mins was the perfect bake time in my oven. Make these; they're a chocolate lover's delight!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2010
used tons of powdered sugar, baked on second to top shelf of oven, the cinkle turned out great used an entire ghiardelli baking bar & 2 cups mini chocolate chips, these are yummy chocolatety cookies
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Matt D
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2010
The chocolate chips are a nice touch. After freezing them overnight the first batch i cooked didn't crinkle much -- the confectioner's sugar was in huge, unbroken blobs. After flattening the second batch turned out a little better, but there must be a trick to producing a flawless looking cookie. They still taste phenomenal though, regardless of how they look.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Matt D

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by victoria
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2011
I followed the recipe exactly.They came out soft, chewy and fudgy. When I was making the dough balls, they tend to stick to my hands so I floured my hand and them rolled the balls.These cookies are so beautiful looking and they are delicious.Thank you for share the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by victoria

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Guangzhou, Guangdong Province, China
Living In: Sunnyvale, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2011
These are the BEST cookies I have ever had. I was stationed in Iraq and my family sent me some Chocolate Crinkles. I made the mistake of sharing them with my office. Everytime I got a package after that I got surrounded to see if I got more cookies. They were nicknamed "Crack cookies" because they were so addictive. WARNING: When you make the cookies ensure that you let the dough refrigerate overnight or they will not have the right consistancy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2012
Delicious cookies. I chilled them in 1/2 hour in the deep freeze in a gallon freezer zipper bag, which was perfect. Very rich and chocolatey. I used my Silpat mat to bake them on, which worked perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2012
These are my favorite! I also like to smash up candy canes and sprinkle them on top right after they come out of the oven so they melt ont top!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2012
It was the most delicious recipe ever!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: El Paso, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2013
These disappeared within a few hours. The kids gobbled them up. Will be adding this to my list of cookies for lunches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Crinkles II

See how to make chocolate cookies coated in confectioners' sugar.

No Cholesterol Chocolate Chip Cookies

These amazing cookies are good for the heart AND for the taste buds.

Chocolate Chocolate Chip Cookies I

See how to make the chocolate lover’s chocolate chip cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States