Chocolate Crinkles III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2006
This is the best Chocolate Crinkles recipe!! Our family has been baking these for decades. Baking chocolate (not cocoa as some recipes use) makes these cookies rich and fudgy. You can't mess these up; even little children enjoy making them. The recipe should say "4 ounces of unsweetened chocolate, MELTED AND COOLED". Also, chilling the dough is an important step - otherwise, the dough will be too soft to work with. I chill it overnight, then put the bowl out on the counter for 1/2 hour before beginning to bake. (If the cookies don't spread as much as you'd like during baking, you can start pressing down gently on the tops of the cookies before putting them into the oven.) We love these cookies - they're brownies in cookie form!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2005
Actually, the way this recipe is written, it doesn't make sense. It says mix oil, chocolate and sugar. What do you do with the chocolate? Grate it? Melt it? Hmmm... I had to do my own thing, but would like to know how the recipe is actually made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2008
I followed the recipe exactly, except I did as one reviewer suggested and stuck the dough in the freezer for about 45 minutes. Then I used a lightly oiled tablespoon scoop to drop the dough into the confectioner's sugar. I rolled it around for a bit and then formed it into a ball before plopping it on a cookie sheet covered with parchment paper. I squished the dough balls down a bit before baking for about 15 minutes. The cookies spread a lot more than I thought they would, so I'm glad that they were placed about 2 inches apart. [I actually like the flatter version more than the little mounds you see in the photos] Despite the extended baking time and flat-ish shape, they still came out chewy and soft and fudgy [maybe a tiny bit crisp or hard on the sides]. They really are brownies in cookie form :D [Note: 1/4 a recipe yielded 10 cookies. I used a rounded, generous tablespoon for each cookie.]
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2006
This is the best Crinkle recipe I have ever tried! I made them today for the first time and they turned out so soft and chewy. I have tried others in the past, but none were ever this good. I didn't bake them on a normal cookie sheet, but instead used the Demarle Silpat and perforated cookie sheet. I will be definitely making these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stephanie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2005
This is the crinkle recipe to use!!!!My Mom has been making them over over 40 years and I have also been making them for at least 15 years. It's a foolproof recipe which makes lots of cookies. One sure tip would be: being that the dough is sticky, flour your hands often and then roll the chocolate balls, it goes a lot faster that way. Enjoy!!! Everyone will love these delicious cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Red Bank, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2007
Found this cookie to be a mild flavored cookie, would have liked a stronger chocolate flavor. Nice chewy cookie and beautiful crinkle finish. Difficult to get off cookie sheet, maybe greasing sheet would have helped. I had no consistency problems, seems the refrigerating took care of that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2006
FANTASTIC!! Super easy to make and just delicious. I agree with the other reviewer who said they have a slight crispy crunch on the outside but are soft like a brownie on the inside. The are nice and chocolately/fudgy tasting and the sweet confectioners sugar on the outside is such a nice balance. These are definitely going on my cookie trays!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KIMBACUB

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rochelle Park, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2002
I have used this recipe for 30 years. It's easily divisible by 4 so if low on an ingredient, you can still get a chocolate fix by dividing the recipe in half or fourths. This recipe makes great brownies. Use 1/4 recipe if you don't trust yourself with a whole recipe and stick in a loaf pan. 1/2 recipe (less 1 Tablespoon of uncooked dough eaten!) fits in an 8x8 or 9x9 pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2001
I have been using this particular recipe since I was 10 years old. When I moved out of the house I took the recipe with me. I was in the Air Force and brought my chocolate crinkles to work and everybody, I mean everybody could not resist them. People were asking me for the recipe left and right. One lady was starting her own business and decided to make and sell these cookies and give it a name that pertained to me.. How cool is that?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2008
These cookies are great! They do tend to stick to the pans, but if you let them cool for awhile on the pans, they come off a little better. Added in a half bag of chocolate chips I wanted to use up, and they tasted great in the cookie! Also dusted with a little more powdered sugar once the cookies were cooled. Very yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Green Bay, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 77) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Crinkles II

See how to make chocolate cookies coated in confectioners' sugar.

Chili Chocolate Cookies

See how a dash of cayenne pepper really draws out the chocolate flavor.

Chocolate Chocolate Chip Cookies I

See how to make the chocolate lover’s chocolate chip cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States