Chocolate Crinkles III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
Made as written. They tasted good, but I was used to the little "nugget" cookies and these flattened out incredibly. The bulk of the powdered sugar also "melted" during the cooking process. Again, they tasted good, but they were not what I was looking for. I will go back to the cake mix version.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Florala, Alabama, USA
Living In: Laurel Hill, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2010
LOVE this recipe! This is the exact recipe, (practically word for word) out of Betty Crocker's 1963 "Cooky Book." We made these every Christmas growing up and I can't wait to start making them for my kids this year!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2010
These were my favorite cookies as a kid...and still are! I prefer them only 3/4 baked, and then freeze them. I can pull them out of the freezer and any time and still have gooey cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2010
These cookies are yummy! I was looking for a recipe like this because there is a restaurant here that makes chocolate "volcano cookies." I never knew they were called crinkle cookies. I did not have baking chocolate, so I used 3/4 c. cocoa and 1/4 butter but otherwise copied the recipe exactly. Definitely a hit with my kids! (and my hubby and me too)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2010
There are a ton of chocolate crinkle recipes out there, but none like this one. Soft in the middle, crispy outside. Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Jordan, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2010
I was not very impressed with the texture, flavor or user-friendliness of this recipe. I followed the recipe exactly, except I replaced one of the tsp of vanilla with strong coffee from this morning. This one change should not change anything, as I"m replacing liquid for liquid. I even weighed out the chocolate to exactly four ounces. the end results spread out way too thin, barely tasted like chocolate and stuck to the pan no matter how much I sprayed it (I always use a very light uniform spray). Might try again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2009
They turned out well visually but the cookie was a little too dry for my liking. I had these from another baker & they were like chewy little brownies. I'm going to investigate to see if it might have been my technique adding the eggs. A time consuming but fun cookie project. The better the chocolate you use, the better they will taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by addycat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kaley_Rae
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2009
Cut the recipe n half an followed ingredients an instructions exact. Will update after Christmas =) UPDATE:: FABULOUS!!! My grandma tried to whord the few that were left but people just kept eating them..they were such a hit!! Will def. keep an make again. Thanks so much =D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kaley_Rae

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2009
this is the exact recipe my mother has been making for 30+ years. don't change a thing! soft and fudgy and a little messy - everything a cookie should be!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2009
I wouldn't roll it in icing sugar the next time. Half of it disappears during the baking process. Instead, I would sprinkle it on after they've cooled. My tip for that is to use a loose tea spoon and fill with the icing sugar. It works great! Mine came out nice and chewy in the middle. It's not overly sweet, still very yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: South Burlington, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 77) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Crinkles II

See how to make chocolate cookies coated in confectioners' sugar.

Chili Chocolate Cookies

See how a dash of cayenne pepper really draws out the chocolate flavor.

Chocolate Chocolate Chip Cookies I

See how to make the chocolate lover’s chocolate chip cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States