Chocolate Crinkles II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2014
I was out of flour, so I used coconut flakes instead. The coconut flakes were probably just about the only part of the cookies that i enjoyed, of course you can't really call them cookies so much as burnt little lumps of chocolaty . I can assure you that I will not be using this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jenni M
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2014
I didn't have time to let the dough chill but they still came out fabulous. I bit hard to handle (thus why chilling is recommended) but couldn't be happier with how they turned out!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenni M

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2014
These are great...for the novice (like me), a 50 whatever spoon is NOT a tablespoon size...I used a tablespoon and got half the cookies...go smaller...these are nice and rich, almost brownie like. also, the recipe doesn't say electric mixer...saw that in the video after I made the batter...that would have been handy up front. my forearms are talking to me after mixing it by hand. Great recipe and will do again...smaller...and with an electric mixer. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by elmcityboy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2014
Very easy and yummy, reading the reviews I wish I had read them earlier and could have saved some time by putting them in the freezer and the dough is very sticky, but they is good still!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alician Allen

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2014
I followed the recipe exactly and they came out delicious! The dough IS very sticky no matter what, but dropping it directly in the sugar and then rolling it into balls worked beautifully. I took another reviewer's advice and baked them 2 inches from the heat and they crackled nicely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2014
These are always a hit in my family. Make sure your hands are cold when rolling the cookies into balls. I always undercook them slightly so that they are soft and chewy. They are best the day they are made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2014
My cookies came out perfect. Texture, taste and appearance were exactly as expected. I replaced vanilla with peppermint extract and added mini chocolate chips and chopped Andes mints. Now I have to stop eating them and save some for everyone else!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2014
Took out half a cup of sugar. Stuck dough in stainless steel metal bowl and popped in deep freezer for 45 minutes. Spooned dough into powdered sugar before rolling into balls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2014
I made these last night and followed the recipe exact only I substituted 1Tsp peppermint extract for the vanilla. Husband & 2 grown kids love them! My only reason for 4 stars instead of five is because I rolled into 1" balls and they spread out so they are larger than the ones in the picture. Next time I will get a melon baller and use that as I think the 'crinkle' will look better on a smaller cookie. I have to say this made a lot of cookies though! 4 dozen?! This is a bit messy to make....could be easier w\a helper to roll in sugar while someone scoops the balls out of the dough! Also I did stick the dough/batter in the freezer for an hour and I used parchment paper which all worked out fine! I will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Photo by Anesia
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2014
Things of note: - the recipe is for 1" balls which makes very small cookies as they do not spread out - the dough is very cake-y / moist / sponge-y FYI Not necessarily bad things just different than I have had in the past. :-) Make sure you really press the balls into the powder well, leaving it chunky, so when they crack you have an opaque layer of white powder. They look a lot better that way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anesia

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 1,069) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Chocolate Crinkles II

See how to make chocolate cookies coated in confectioners' sugar.

Chocolate Chocolate Chip Cookies I

See how to make the chocolate lover’s chocolate chip cookie.

Chocolate Mint Cookies I

This rich cookie is crowned with delicious chocolate-mint "frosting."

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States