Chocolate Crinkles II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2014
I DON'T bake, so when I try to make cookies from scratch it better be simple.... this recipe was great! I made them for Christmas Eve. got the mix done, chilled for about 3 hrs and baked perfectly with very little effort. I used an ice cream scooper and rolled them into semi-tight little balls and didn't have a problem with too much sticking. you just gotta roll fast and plop into sugar. I this used those large foil type cookie trays (the dollar store type) so I can't speak on the need to grease the sheet, I didn't and they slid off without a spatula. I baked them on the second from top rack for 11 min. every one loved them and I have some picky people here. I'd say they are like a cookie/brownie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2014
These are a great cookie and have enough of a chocolate taste for me. They make a great addition to a Christmas platter. Will go on my holiday baking list. Thanks for the great recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: North Battleford, Saskatchewan, Canada
Living In: Airdrie, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by QueenTut1020
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2014
These came out great! I refrigerated the batter for 4 hours as indicated in the recipe. It was still sticky but I continued with it anyway. The stickiness was actually good for getting a good coating of powdered sugar, if you don't mind dealing with the mess. They still held a nice ball shape on the cookie sheet. I lined the sheet with parchment paper and they had no trouble sticking. I baked for 11 minutes and let them cool on the sheet. They seemed fragile coming out of the oven, but firmed up enough to put on a tray and transport. I added a Tablespoon of instant espresso to the batter that gave a nice mocha flavor. They had a nice soft brownie-like texture inside. My husband could not stop eating them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by QueenTut1020

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Albany, New York, USA
Living In: Granville, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2014
I thought I followed the recipe to the letter, but mine did not turn out like the other reviewers described. They tasted okay - sort of like brownies, but the consistency of my dough (after it chilled overnight) was like silly putty, and they did not spread at all when they baked. I would rather have spent less time making a pan of brownies. Sorry, but I won't be making them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2014
Just made these cookies baked them on my ppchf. Stoneware didn't need to use parchment paper did a just cooking time to 15min..easy recipe...chocolate lovers cookies delight. ..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2014
The cookies are beautiful and taste good. I added 1/2 teaspoon of peppermint which gave it a hint of mint flavor. I wish I had used cherry flavor instead. I would really like to find a way to add a mar. cherry to the dough w/o the confectioners sugar. But, the dough was really hard for me to work with. I used scoops, tablespoons, teaspoons. Ended up throwing away the last 1/3 of the batter. It was easier when the dough was colder. Probably should have just refrigerated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nonavr66

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2014
This is an outstanding cookie. The texture and flavor is perfect. They are somewhat like a brownie in cookie form. I can't imagine making these without using a small melon baller, though. These cookies make a nice presentation. I used a whole cup of confectioners sugar for coating and I baked them for 11 minutes and left them on the cookie sheet for an additional minute as per instructions. They store well in an airtight container with parchment between layers and taste even better the following day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lace
Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2014
I was out of flour, so I used coconut flakes instead. The coconut flakes were probably just about the only part of the cookies that i enjoyed, of course you can't really call them cookies so much as burnt little lumps of chocolaty . I can assure you that I will not be using this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jenni M
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2014
I didn't have time to let the dough chill but they still came out fabulous. I bit hard to handle (thus why chilling is recommended) but couldn't be happier with how they turned out!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenni M

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2014
These are great...for the novice (like me), a 50 whatever spoon is NOT a tablespoon size...I used a tablespoon and got half the cookies...go smaller...these are nice and rich, almost brownie like. also, the recipe doesn't say electric mixer...saw that in the video after I made the batter...that would have been handy up front. my forearms are talking to me after mixing it by hand. Great recipe and will do again...smaller...and with an electric mixer. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by elmcityboy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 1,066) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Crinkles II

See how to make chocolate cookies coated in confectioners' sugar.

Chocolate Chocolate Chip Cookies I

See how to make the chocolate lover’s chocolate chip cookie.

Chocolate Mint Cookies I

This rich cookie is crowned with delicious chocolate-mint "frosting."

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States