Chocolate Crinkles II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2005
I was pretty excited to find this recipe - my favorite cafe' makes these humongous crinkles that are so dark they're black! But sadly, although these were pretty good, they were not like the ones at the cafe'. I give it 4 stars because they were fudgy and had a good flavor and everyone liked them, but they just weren't the ones I was hoping for. A note about working with the sticky dough - I'm glad I read other reviews. I put mine in the freezer for about 45 minutes and used spoons to scoop out the dough DIRECTLY into the powdered sugar. Once the dough was in the sugar, they were easy to handle and just plopped into a perfect circle onto the pan. And you MUST used GREASED pans or they WILL stick terribly because of the powdered sugar on the bottom of the cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
514 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOONNOODLE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Everett, Washington, USA
Living In: Republic, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2007
These are my childhood favorite. I make them every christmas. Thing is I'm lazy, so i created a different recipe with the same dough, so i get two types of cookies for the same work. Instead of rolling them in powdered sugar, i roll some in regular granulated sugar and then after they come out of the oven, i pop a hershey hug on top. they're pretty and again, two cookies with the effort of one. no one even recognizes they're the same. easy peasy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
482 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2004
This is a yummy-foolproof cookie recipe. To intensify the chocolate "experience," I added 1/2 cup melted bittersweet chocolate and used dutch-processed cocoa powder. For those who are having trouble with the top cracking, here's a tip: Place your cookie sheet on the second to-the-top rack and only bake one cookie sheet at a time. The hot heat at the top of the oven enables the cookie to crack. This trick also works for ginger snaps.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
433 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2001
This is a very good recipe. I'm so glad I found it. Since parchment paper is way too valuable in my kitchen for so many cookies, I find a light oiling of the cookie sheet works better for me. The cookies come off much easier than the parchment paper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
214 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2008
I've made these so many times and they always turn out! Make sure to coat them with enough powdered sugar to get them to "crinkle." Here are some suggestions: Divide the dough into two and spread it out in a plate. Put it in the freezer for 30-45 minutes. Before forming them into balls, get your hands wet so they won't stick to them. You might have to pop them back in the freezer if it's a hot day just DON'T try to handle them when they're warm because you will just be wasting your time. Also, get creative with them! I've made them with cinnamon one time and I coated them with powdered sugar mixed with cinnamon and those turned out GREAT :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
178 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Juan, National Capital Region, Philippines
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2009
To make these more intensely chocolate I used part black cocoa for about a third of the cocoa called for. The parchment worked like a dream and the cookies, which I coated heavily with powdered sugar, were beautiful. However, hubs said this wasn't his favorite cookie because it tasted like a moist, fudgey brownie. I guess that makes these 5-star cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
173 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2004
After mixing up this dough, I was sure I had made a mistake because it was so thin, more like cake batter. Double-checked the recipe and I had done it correctly. I thought to myself that I'd never be able to make cookies out of THAT. I was sure wrong about that! It makes very lovely cookies and not only do they look good, they taste good! They make quite a striking presentation on a holiday cookie tray.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
142 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lawton, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2002
Great recipe! I added 1 cup chocolate chips and substituted 1 teaspoon peppermint extract for the vanilla. My kids liked them better than Girl Scouts Thin Mints, which is high praise in my house. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
108 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2002
These cookies were a delight to make. They were simple, moist and delicious. Doubling the recipe and using a 1 Tablespoon measure per cookie, I yielded about 80 cookies. As a side note: I noticed that a few people had troubles with getting these cookies to "crinkle". Therefore, I made sure to coat them with enough powdered sugar and then baked them for the full time indicated to ensure a good "crinkle". They turned out perfectly. I hope this helps! Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
102 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2007
A great holiday variation of these cookies is to add a few drops of peppermint extract to the batter - it's like peppermint patty cookies. Kids love them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
62 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,033) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chocolate Crinkles II

See how to make chocolate cookies coated in confectioners' sugar.

Chocolate Chocolate Chip Cookies I

See how to make the chocolate lover’s chocolate chip cookie.

Chocolate Mint Cookies I

This rich cookie is crowned with delicious chocolate-mint "frosting."

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States