Chocolate Crinkles II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2014
I tried this recipe for the first time tonight. I have never eaten or seen this cookie before but found it while perusing the site for some new chocolate desserts. I need to make a variety of chocolate desserts for a chocolate and champagne event I do at my home in December and this looked very snowy and good for the season. It also looked pretty easy and I had all the ingredients on hand so I decided to give them a try. I refrigerated the dough for 4-5 hours. I can't believe I have baked for so many years and never come across these cookies. They were so easy and came out so perfectly. I baked them for 15 minutes and that was just right for my oven. I ended up with 4 dozen instead of 6 so that is probably why mine took a little longer. I put parchment on the cookie sheets and could lift off easily with my hand. No sticking at all. I made the first two batches exactly according to the recipe and then added a handful of chocolate chips and macadamia nuts to the last two. Both were very good but really do taste like a cake-like brownie. I have had a lot of trouble lately with my cookies going flat so I was delighted that they kept their mounded shaped. I rolled the balls in quite a bit of powdered sugar and it stayed on beautifully making the perfect affect. They looked just like in the pictures.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2014
I went by the recipe completely besides I only had 1 teaspoons vanilla extract. They came out perfect and they look so pretty!!! The dough will become hard to mix and its very sticky after you take it out of the frig. It's a chewy type of cookie. I'm making the whole family these for xmas. +UPDATE+ I made these for xmas for everyone and they LOVED it and asked for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mindy Allen

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2014
I made the dough as directed (adding just a tiny bit of ovaltine) and froze the dough for about 45 minutes like other reviews suggested. I tried using a spoon to drop into the powdered sugar then rolling into balls, and I also tried rolling into balls first then coating in the powdered sugar. The first way wasn't as messy but the cookies didn't always stay in a ball very well. I didn't have parchment paper so I sprayed the cookie sheets with cooking spray. I did make most of the cookies too big and now I know they should be small, like the recipe says. Still very good though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by April
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2014
Delicious! Easy to make and yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2014
Amazing. Best crinkle cookies I have ever tasted!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2014
This recipe is so easy and makes a TON of cookies. Next time I won't double the batch on the first try. LOL
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crystal Vaughan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2014
Cakey and underwhelming.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kid

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2014
my son loves these! Only thing I did different is add some powdered espresso powder to batter, it deepens the chocolate flavor. And I double roll the cookies, drop uneven ball in powdered sugar, roll by hand and then roll in the sugar again. I have bought the box mix from Ghiradelli they sell at Aldi's around the holidays and have been looking for a way to recreate them year round, thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2014
Really great cookie recipe...I love how chocolatey it is. I made my batter the night before and placed in the fridge to chill overnight. Here's a tip, in case your worried about the stickiness of the batter when your rolling these cookies out then plop them right in the powdered sugar before rolling
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KrysDannielle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2014
Ran out of white sugar so had to use mostly brown sugar in the recipe. I also substituted 2-3 Tb of black cocoa for part of the cocoa powder to make it extra chocolaty. Dough was like brownie batter so I put in freezer for a few hours and then it was fine to scoop & roll in powdered sugar. They turned out great, everyone loved them. Best part is that the dough is perfect for freezer because it stays soft so there's no need to thaw it out - just scoop & roll.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 1,062) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Crinkles II

See how to make chocolate cookies coated in confectioners' sugar.

Chocolate Chocolate Chip Cookies I

See how to make the chocolate lover’s chocolate chip cookie.

Chocolate Mint Cookies I

This rich cookie is crowned with delicious chocolate-mint "frosting."

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States