Chocolate Crinkle Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2013
I followed the recipe exactly. Except when my son dumped in the sifted flour all at once instead of letting me add gradually. The flavor was good but the cookies were very flat and all the powdered sugar was absorbed during baking so there wasn't any on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2012
this recipe has never turned out right. i started using chocolate crinkles II, and that recipe turns out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cheri busenitz

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2012
Well, this recipe only gets stars because the end product tasted great, but otherwise it was a hot mess. I agree with another reviewer who said these are not crinkle cookies-they aren't. They're more like a chocolate cookie with chocolate chips and some powdered sugar on the outside. I followed the recipe exactly and the end result was a flat, very light brown cookie that spread like wildfire-and I refrigerated the dough overnight. As you can see from other reviews, A LOT of people have made revisions to this in order to make it a true crinkle cookie and while I understand why, I don't understand rating this recipe 5 stars if I have to alter half of it. Great tasting cookie, but not a crinkle. It needs more flour-or possibly cocoa based on some of the reviews-to be a crinkle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2011
The name of these cookies is misleading because these don't taste like any chocolate crinkle cookies I've ever had. The reason I used this recipe was because it called for butter rather than oil, but the chocolate flavor is not rich enough, the color isn't even dark enough. Not only that they baked flat. I knew that 1 C of flour just didn't seem like enough. If anyone knows a recipe that is more a "traditional" chocolate crinkle cookie, please post it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2011
I made this recipe as directed last year and they did not turn out. The dough was a total mess to work with even after chilling for 3-4 hours, the cookies baked out really flat and didn't taste that great. This year I took some of the suggestions of other reviewers. I added 1/3 c cocoa and cut the sugar to 3/4 c. I also chilled the dough overnight (almost a full 24 hrs). I made sure to be VERY generous with the powdered sugar to get a good crinkle affect. Much less mess and I ended up with very delicious, very chocolately cookies. My only mistake was rolling the balls quite small based on last year's problem of them baking out so much. They did not do that this year so next year I will roll them a little bigger (at least 1 in if not a little more)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2011
I had a recipe for these without the chocolate chips but they were too dry. I like these much better. However, I think they would be better with the mini choccolate chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: North Haledon, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2011
omg so good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
I've made versions of these for 30 years--but this turned out the best ever. I subbed 1/3 cup cocoa powder for the squares (darn--I was out) and used 1 1/2 cups melted choc chips. I made them a lot larger and they are PERFECT. (I also had to use 1/3 cup whole wheat flour--ran out of white!) Thank you so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2010
These are not the chocolate crinkle cookies I usually make; a friend gave me the recipe a few years ago; of course, I misplaced the recipe card. This version was not even close; the cookies were flat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sue&boots

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2010
It was ok
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

No Cholesterol Chocolate Chip Cookies

These amazing cookies are good for the heart AND for the taste buds.

Chocolate Chocolate Chip Cookies I

See how to make the chocolate lover’s chocolate chip cookie.

Chili Chocolate Cookies

See how a dash of cayenne pepper really draws out the chocolate flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States