Chocolate Cream Pudding Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2014
Omg this was delicious. My daughter said it tasted like liquid gold. I only had one ounce of bakers choc. So I substituted cocoa powder for the other ounce ( 3 tsp cocoa powder plus 1 tsp oil). I also added an additional ounce of cocoa powder cause who doesn't want more chocolate!? No more box pudding for us. Topped this off with some semi frozen whipped topping and the rest is history. My only regret was not doubling this recipe. For a family of four this doesn't go very far.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2014
This was definitely the best chocolate pudding I've ever had! I didn't bother with the egg yolks or butter, and it was still smooth and shiny. I decided to try an experiment with it, and I froze it in Pop-sickle molds. As I suspected, it turned into fudge-sickles! yay!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2014
Wonderful. My family loved every single bite. My first time ever trying scratch pudding.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vermontmaple

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winooski, Vermont, USA
Living In: North Hartland, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2014
ok…I listened to those who said use a whisk, which I would use anyway. I grated the chocolate. I tempered the eggs and I dissolved the cornstarch in the milk prior to adding to the sugar. I cooked the pudding appropriately according to recipe and I thickened as stated but this still was gritty. Cant explain why. I would have to give this 3 stars for good flavor but overall consistency ruined it for me
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2014
I followed the recipe as posted here. I started with a rubber spatula to stir with so I could scrape off the sides then moved to a whisk and once I switched over it thickened up really fast. I think it was a bit too thick but I'll figure that out later. It's the first tim I ever made a pudding from scratch. I used artificial sugar as my family is mostly diabetic and it might have changed the finished product. I hated to waste the egg white so I made Pepper Meringues by KATHY (on this site) with the whites as topping. Without the pepperment. It turned out fantastic!! Thanks to all the tips in the comments. And the pudding doesn't stick to the celophane wrap at all. I was a bit worried about scraping pudding from the plastic wrap. lol I will have to cut back on the sugar as it was a bit too sweet but I find artifical sugar to be sweeter than regular so next time I know.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2014
Amazing!!! I love dark chocolate and this was right up my ally. I did add more chocolate to this (can never have too much). It is a cross between hot chocolate and brownie batter. will keep making this instead of the box stuff.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2014
Very yummy. I will keep this as my standby chocolate pudding to make and eat like a boss!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2014
I fudged the ingredients a little bit, using 3/4 cup brown sugar instead of white (being out of sugar wasnt gonna stop me from making pudding!), and I free-handed the milk chocolate peices, and 1 tsp cinnamon, 2 tbsp Ovaltine. Delicious! Will make again, as i made it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kristinpatton987

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Troy, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2014
My husband liked this even better than my usual from scratch chocolate pudding, so this will be my new pudding recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Trachtenberg

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2014
I just made this last night and it did turn out perfect but it was too sweet for my liking. I'd suggest lowering the amount of sugar put in if you don't want it too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 172) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Mini Dark Chocolate Pudding Cakes

See how to make mini pudding cakes with luscious dark chocolate.

Chocolate Cornstarch Pudding

See how to make a super-simple, 5-star chocolate pudding.

Chocolate Cream Puff Swans

See how to make impressive, surprisingly easy cream puff swans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States