Chocolate Cream Pudding Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2010
I don't want to be rude, but if this recipe turns out as anything other than a perfect basic chocolate pudding, it is entirely your fault. If you have egg bits: you put the egg in too much at a time and the temperature difference between the eggs and mixture was too high. Temper the eggs first or they will cook instantly when you put them in. Corn starch bits: you added the corn starch too late and the mixture was too hot. Mix the corn starch in thoroughly with the first cup of milk until it's dissolved. Liquid consistency after chilling: you didn't stir it enough while it was cooking. Stir it more until it becomes thick in the pan. Chocolate didn't melt: you cooked it too hot and the chocolate was too thick. Break it into smaller pieces, shave it, or cook the pudding on a lower heat for a longer period of time. Gritty or otherwise imperfect texture: you didn't use a whisk. Use a whisk. Remember that the pudding is only as good as the ingredients you put in it, so if you want it to turn out awesomely, splurge a bit and get some GOOD chocolate. Furthermore, it's a recipe that will take some tweaking before you get it exactly to your tastes. Don't make it once, trash it, and blame it on the recipe; make it twice, three, four times and change it each time until you get it. This is a pudding worth mastering.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
367 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2003
Great stuff. I served this cold at a dinner for 20 and got loads of compliments. Adding 15% more chocolate made the flavor intense. I would add a few steps to the instructions. 1)Destroy every lump in the powder mix or risk lumpy pudding. 2)Grate the chocolate. It melted at the same moment the mixture boiled. 3) Stir a few spoonfuls of heated cream/chocolate mixture into the egg yolks to warm them up BEFORE putting the egg yolks into the pot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
270 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2001
Very creamy and tasty. Unsweetened cocoa powder (with a little vegetable oil) can be substituted for the unsweetened chocolate with good results. As an aside, for those having trouble adding in the egg: beat the yolks in a bowl and add a tiny bit of the hot pudding in, mix it up and add a little more. Then you can add the yolks into the pudding and they won't 'scramble'. Seperate the yolks carefully as well or you'll get bits of cooked egg white in your pudding. Overall a good, old-fashioned pudding recipe with wonderful texture and flavour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
152 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2009
Basically this is a wonderful, old-fashioned pudding recipe that's been around for decades. In this recipe an extra teaspoon of vanilla is used. However, the cooking method here is asking for trouble - like cooked bits of eggs to be specific! (If that happens you might still be able to salvage it by sieving it) Do NOT stir the egg yolks into the hot mixture! Rather, stir about a half cup of the hot mixture into the yolks to temper them, then return the egg mixture to the saucepan to finish cooking. Finally, whether you leave this in one serving bowl or pour into individual serving dishes, cover with plastic wrap directly on the surface to prevent a skin from forming. Note: For a vanilla variation eliminate the chocolate and reduce the sugar to 3/4 cup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2008
This pudding is delicious! My kids and I had this as a snack with some vanilla wafers and loved it! I made a couple of minor changes to the recipe though- I cut the vanilla extract down to 1 teaspoon and added 1 teaspoon of almond extract as well. I also omitted the butter at the end (simply because I got busy with my kids and forgot until it was already in the fridge) and even without it this was the richest, creamiest pudding I've ever made, and I saved on some calories and fat! I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Muffinmom

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Syracuse, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2007
I thought this recipe was great simply because it is so easy to make! I will use it again with a couple of slight variations. I thought it was a bit too sweet and the sweetness overpowered the more complex, deep chocolate flavor that I was really hoping for. Next time I will use 3/4 cup sugar. Also, I used Ghiradelli unsweetened chocolate and I found that I was left with little dark flecks of chocolate throughout the pudding that hadn't melted completely despite the fact that I cooked at a lower heat for a longer period of time to try to avoid this. I don't think this had any impact on the flavor, because the pieces were so tiny, but next time I will melt the chocolate before adding it in. The little chocolatey spots definitely show that the pudding is homemade though, so if they don't bother you, just follow the recipe as is and go for it! Although the recipe doesn't mention it, make sure you temper your egg yolks before adding them in. (Add a little of the chocolate mixture to the yolks first and whisk to bring up the temperature, then pour in to the main mixture and whisk.) Failing to do this will leave you with little chocolatey scrambled eggs! Also, I would suggest using a whisk for the entire cooking process to ensure a lump-free pudding. All in all, very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2007
I upped the chocolate to 2.5 ounces and told my dad that it was really rich..."Well who doesn't want rich pudding?" This was really good, though. Very creamy, rich and chocolately. I only used maybe a teaspoon of butter and it still had great flavor. The best chocolate pudding recipe so far.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FRAMBUESA

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Pam-3BoysMama
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2008
This was exactly what I was looking for. I did grate the chocolate which worked out very well. Definitely temper the egg yolks by stirring some hot mixture into them then adding them to the pan. If you skip this step you'll wind up with little chunks of scrambled egg yolk in your pudding.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam-3BoysMama

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Monroeville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: New Castle, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2002
There's a trick to get all of the chocolate to melt. Use a whisk!! This recipe turns out great! My kids just loved it. Also, add the egg yolks in a little at a time, not all at once. This will definitely go into my family's "favorites"! Becky D.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2003
Very good! You can't really get to fancy w/ chocolate pudding so this is a basic recipe. Very chocolately. Just remember to prevent clumping add a little water or milk to the cornstartch before hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 171) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mini Dark Chocolate Pudding Cakes

See how to make mini pudding cakes with luscious dark chocolate.

Chocolate Cornstarch Pudding

See how to make a super-simple, 5-star chocolate pudding.

Chocolate Cream Puff Swans

See how to make impressive, surprisingly easy cream puff swans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States