Chocolate Cream Pudding Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2011
This is wonderful! I decreased the sugar to 1/2 cup, and I knew to whisk some of the pudding mixture into the egg yolks. ***You get the best results when you allow the yolks to get to room temperature*** Have fun cooking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lynn Brown

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2011
very nice... was slightly grainy (maybe cooked too long?) also used less sugar and was still really sweet... will try 1/2 c next time
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by meeky

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stratford, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2011
I made this today with my nine yr old daughter. I followed the recommendations on other reviews: 1)mixing cornstarch with a bit of the milk before adding it to the pot. 2) shaving the chocolate 3) Adding a bit of the mixture to the egg yolk before putting the yolk into the pot 3) stirring it constantly with a whisk 4) covering the surface of the pudding with plastic wrap before chilling it. The pudding came out great. The only thing I would do different is to add less sugar. It was too sweet for my taste. My daughter really enjoyed making it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2011
I've made this pudding twice now, and it has a permanent place in my recipe box! It's simple to make and tastes great. I took other reviewer's advice and tempered the eggs, which gives it a smoother texture. This pudding is delicious either chilled or warmed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2011
Wow! Loved this! I didn't have the squares of chocolate so I added 6 tablespoons of cocoa powder and it turned out wonderful! Keep stirring (key) until you can really see it's thickening. Also, temper the yolks by adding a few tablespoons of the hot mixture to the eggs and stir quickly. Then, add that to the pan. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by vparize
Home Town: Monrovia, California, USA
Living In: Garden Grove, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2011
I loved this pudding!!! However, my husband thought it was too sweet, so for those of you who can't handle things that are extremely rich, you may want to reduce the sugar to 3/4 c. I think that would still be delicious. I will definitely keep this for my go to recipe for pudding. **You should definitely temper the eggs before incorporating them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Theadra

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2011
We loved it, delicious. For dahlia15: you probably didn't put it on hot enough for cornstarch to work. This is why it wasn't thick. It happens to me too, so I put it on a higher warmth, and it started to thicken more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2011
I have no idea what went wrong, but it never thickened. It also didn't taste good...actually was strange tasting chocolate soup. Maybe my cornstarch didn't work??
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2011
Heaven!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lilac1483

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2010
Quick and simple recipe, yet excellent, rich flavor and velvety texture. No problem with tempering the egg yolks, simply whisked them into the milk before adding it to cornstarch and sugar, whisked constantly until it thickened and bubbled for 1 minute, removed from heat, whisked in chocolate, vanilla and butter and it came out perfect. Anyone who has trouble executing this recipe needs to re-evaluate their skill set or technique.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fred Cannon

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Garrett, Indiana, USA
Living In: Saint Joe, Indiana, USA

Displaying results 81-90 (of 175) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Mini Dark Chocolate Pudding Cakes

See how to make mini pudding cakes with luscious dark chocolate.

Chocolate Cornstarch Pudding

See how to make a super-simple, 5-star chocolate pudding.

Chocolate Cream Puff Swans

See how to make impressive, surprisingly easy cream puff swans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States