Chocolate Cream Pudding Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2011
Great pudding recipe! I used three ounces of chocolate instead of two because I wanted a more intense chocolate flavor and I also didn't want this to be too sweet. The level of sweetness was perfect with three ounces of chocolate. I tempered the eggs first (by adding spoonfuls of the hot mixture and stirring) and then added them into the hot mixture. It took mine a while longer to thicken and for the chocolate to melt. In the end, a great home made pudding recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather C

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Swainsboro, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2011
Nice smooth and chocolatey taste. Will make again. I did liquify the cornstarch and tempered the egg yolks before adding to the rest of the mixture and it turned out great. I didn't want to risk adding the yolks at once and messing the recipe. Overall, I recommend this recipe for all sweet tooth's out there.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2011
I am not into sweets too much but i figured i would give it a try. For me it was too much sugar, next time I try it I think I am going to cut the sugar A bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KingSparta

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Marmora, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2011
Very good and chocolatey! Actually tasted very much like my homemade fudge-brownie batter... I wanted to make a quick chocolate treat for this afternoon, but *refuse* to bake in this heat! This was a very fast and simple alternative. Right off the stove the taste was great, and thick consistency. I'm sure it will only improve as it chills! My house smells deliciously chocolately - you can't get that from an instant box. I used coca powder and oil, as I never have unsweetened chocolate on hand. Definitely use a whisk throughout the whole process and temper your eggs! A very solid, and tasty, 4 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LadaFun

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2011
This is so easy and creamy. Basic rules of making pudding: whisk, don't stir - grate chocolate - and temper eggs. Fantastic pudding!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Winthrop, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2011
I've made this pudding a few times now. I hardly ever have unsweetened chocolate on hand, so I substitute 6 Tbs of cocoa + 2 Tbs canola oil. I also use two whole eggs, and have substituted tapioca starch for the cornstarch. It's turned out great each time with only slight flavor variations depending on the brand/type of cocoa. I also find it simpler to combine all the ingredients except the vanilla and butter (beating eggs first) in a large microwave safe bowl, and cooking on high for 1 - 2 minute intervals, stirring in between, until the pudding thickens up well. I then add the butter and vanilla and pour into serving dishes. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2011
This is really delicious warm. So delicious infact, that I may not get to taste it cold! Quick and easy keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burlington, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2011
This was my first try making pudding. Read a few hints from reviewers that helped me out quite a bit. For my tastes too sweet, but I can fix that next time. Hubby and kids will probably love as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bugladynora

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Artesia, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2011
Fabulous recipe! When I make homemade pudding and custards, I add the milk and chocolate to the saucepan first, set my electric range temp to level 3 and stir until the chocolate chunks begin to melt. Then I add the sugar, cornstarch, salt and continue to stir until the the chocolate chunks are completely dissolved. Because the temperature of the mixture is still relatively low, I whip the egg yolks (which have been sitting out on my counter the whole time and should be close to room temperature); and add them directly to the saucepan. Then I begin to stir for about 5 minutes on level 3 heat to ensure the egg yolks are mixed in and no clumping forms. After that, I turn the heat up to level 5 and stir until the mixture thickens to my desired thickness. Remove from heat, add the butter and vanilla and continue to whisk. I should have added that I make pudding using a whisk because it ensures zero clumping. It takes a bit longer to make pudding/custard this way but I've never had it clump. Once I pour the pudding into the container(s), I allow it to cool on my counter for about 1 hour and then refrigerate it. You'll still get a pudding skin, but it's very minimal. GREAT recipe! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tonysgdbg

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2011
Pretty good but extremely rich!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 176) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Mini Dark Chocolate Pudding Cakes

See how to make mini pudding cakes with luscious dark chocolate.

Chocolate Cornstarch Pudding

See how to make a super-simple, 5-star chocolate pudding.

Chocolate Cream Puff Swans

See how to make impressive, surprisingly easy cream puff swans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States