Chocolate Cream Pudding Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2012
I'm in love with this pudding, and I'm not a pudding person - I abhore the commercial 'instant' puddings. Like other reviews, I add a bit more chocolate than called for, for the chocolate to stay the dominant flavor. I just made a double batch, and I used half milk and half of half-n-half. I am a chocolate snob, and always use the best chocolate. I recommend using Guittard chocolate, in my opinion it's better than Ghirardelli, unless a local store carries the high-end single origin bean chocolate. For Utahns, you can't get better than Amano Chocolates, an Orem-based company. When it comes time to tempering the eggs, I learned to have another person pour a thin stream while I whisk madly. Slowly add more until you have about a cup of mixture in the bowl, and then whisk constantly again when adding the tempered eggs back into the pan. Mimi, you have my everlasting love for introducing me to the delights of homemade pudding.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Miss_Bodyworker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Klamath Falls, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2012
We loved this pudding! I did use less sugar and cocoa with 2T oil. We like it hot and cold and it was great both ways.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2012
This recipe is delicious. I used 2 squares of 60% cacao Ghirardelli chocolate. It tasted more like milk chocolate vs. dark chocolate pudding. I followed the others' advice to temper the egg yolks, and it worked perfectly. I reduced the sugar to 3/4 cup which was perfect. I think this recipe is 4 servings instead of 6, so I had to make two recipes. Overall - Yum! I served it to my book club with strawberries and whipped cream, and it was a hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2012
Rich, creamy, delicious. I used 6 Tbsp. of cocoa and 2 Tbsp. canola oil in places of the squares, I didn't have unsweetened on hand. I also only had about a tbsp. of butter available.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2012
Perfect pudding!! I had a lot of luck by grading the chocolate and letting it melt on a lowish heat before turning it up to let it thicken. I also let the eggs come to room temperature and beat the yolks a bit before mixing them in. And of course, I whisked the heck out of it the whole time. The result was just fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2012
This pudding was lovely and rich. I confess we altered it slightly to suit our families tastes. I used the traditional technique of melting the chocolate in the butter before adding it to the pudding and reduced the sugar to 3/4 cup. It didn't make anything near six servings, but I will happily double the recipe and make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2012
I made it with coconut milk since we don't do dairy here. Soooo delicious. Depending on how much chocolate I want sometimes I halve the amount of chocolate I put in it because it is very rich. This a wonderful and very easy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2012
Sooo entirely satisfying and indulgent. I made this into parfaits with home made whipped cream. It was just the right celebration treat for my girls winning 2nd place in a cheerleading competition. Would have been equally good for a pity party if we had needed it! Will make again for sure and has already been requested for the next competition. I feel a new tradition coming on! :) One tip: whisk small amounts of the hot milk mixture into the yolks prior to adding them to the saucepan. This will prevent the eggs from scrambling when added.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2012
excellent- just a note i used a 70 percent dark chocolate and 1 cup of sugar and it was way too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2011
Of the three Chocolate pudding recipes I've tried on this site, this is by far the very best. It combines the wonderful richness of a cream custard with the decadence of chocolate. It's rich, thick, and delicious. I do agree with other reviewers that this may be a little too sweet as is, but that could be easily remedied by cutting the sugar. While the recipe calls for cooling down, I like my chocolate pudding warm. Either way you like it, this is delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenny Weaver-Beal

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 176) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Plan Your Easter Brunch
Plan Your Easter Brunch

Breakfast casseroles, drinks, fancy eggs, and brunch ideas for a sweet Easter event.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Mini Dark Chocolate Pudding Cakes

See how to make mini pudding cakes with luscious dark chocolate.

Chocolate Cornstarch Pudding

See how to make a super-simple, 5-star chocolate pudding.

Chocolate Cream Puff Swans

See how to make impressive, surprisingly easy cream puff swans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States