Chocolate Cream Pudding Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2014
Wonderful recipe. I followed it to a T and the family loved it. Thank You.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2014
I so agree with sarasvati, this is a perfect chocolate pudding. She covered everything that could go wrong. Her review is a great little cooking lesson. Pam
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2013
I decided to try this recipe because it is almost exact to my butterscotch pudding recipe and yep great! I agree with the other lady, if it doesn't turn out then it's your fault
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2013
First, this is a GREAT recipe. However, I did make a couple tweaks running into some challenges. The recipe should include whisking (not stirring) from the first step all the way through. Second, the chocolate should be broken down to small pieces for better melting. Third, make sure to temper the yolks a bit so the egg doesn't scramble. Use a GOOD chocolate! For my diet, I made this carbohydrate free and diabetic friendly by using Sweet Perfection sugar (made from chicory) and unsweetened Ghiradelli chocolate. I also increased the chocolate to 2 ounces which made a more decadent, rich chocolate pudding. Lastly, I made it with heavy cream to make it almost entirely carb-free. OMG this was delicious diet friendly or not!! No reason why you can't use something like Splenda as the sugar or some alternative.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2013
It seamed to easy, but was sooo good! Decreased the sugar by 1/2 though since 1:3 seemed way to sweet. Very rich and creamy pudding, as easy as store bought chemical pudding. Only criticism would be that I wish the skin was thicker, always been the best part of pudding. Thanks for sharing this great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cape Cod, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2013
Grate the chocolate and temper the eggs. This recipe makes an amazing pudding! Very rich and creamy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2013
Way too much sugar. That's saying a lot coming from me, as I have a serious sweet tooth. Next time, I think I'll half the sugar and hope that it turns out better. The texture is great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2013
I have made this basic recipe with the substitution of cocoa powder for the baking chocolate and no egg yolks. In fact, I usually make it with instant dry milk powder. It was a recipe that was developed by people who had no milk and eggs at the time. And it turns out wonderfully. Just put all the dry ingredients into a saucepan, and whisk them till combined and then put in the water to reconstitute the dry milk powder. Stir while it is heating and thickening, take off the heat, add in the vanilla and butter. Easy peasy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2013
The best pudding I've ever tasted! You do need to be careful in adding the egg yolks, which the recipe does not tell you, by adding a little bit of the hot pudding at a time (stirring vigorously) to the egg yolks until the eggs yolk/pudding mixture is warm, then adding it all to the hot pudding. I used two parts half and half and one part skim milk for milk it called for. Also, I added high quality vanilla from the Dominican Republic, which gave it a slight coconutty flavor. It was unbelievably good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2013
I JUST made this a few minutes ago! I have NEVER made a pudding from scratch. I followed this to the T. It was so easy and the BEST pudding i have EVER had! I can not wait for my son to get home from school.....he will LOVE this. I am NEVER buying premade pudding again! Thank you mimi for this new family favorite. I wil add a pic as soon as i can figure out how LOL! Oh the ONLY thing.....dont forget to lay a peice of plastic wrap on top while it cools to avoid that weird skin layer
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 171) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mini Dark Chocolate Pudding Cakes

See how to make mini pudding cakes with luscious dark chocolate.

Chocolate Cornstarch Pudding

See how to make a super-simple, 5-star chocolate pudding.

Chocolate Cream Puff Swans

See how to make impressive, surprisingly easy cream puff swans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States