Chocolate Cream Pie II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2014
I have been making chocolate cream pies for many years because they are my husband's favorite. This was the best chocolate cream pie I have ever made, hands down. Rich chocolate flavor. Topped it with fresh made whipped cream. It was to die for. I used 2 whole eggs instead of the 3 egg yolks. Did not effect the taste or consistency. This recipe will replace all previous recipes I have.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2014
I made this recipe with the addition of 1 more TBS. cornstarch like some of the others stated. Was a bit soft. Maybe next time I will boil a little bit longer like someone else stated. Anyway, the taste was excellent and I will definitely make it again. Thumbs-Up...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Canyon City, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2014
Very disappointed. made this pie 4 hours ago and was getting ready to take it to my friend who is recovering and the pie didn't set. as I read the reviews now I see that almost everyone altered the recipe so it worked. although the flavor is wonderful, it's not pie....it's pudding with pie crust. Betty Crocker here I come.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2014
Made this by request of the birthday girl; everyone agreed it was wonderful. Based on reviews here, I substituted 1 cup of heavy cream for 1 cup of milk and used 4 T of cornstarch instead of 3. The texture was silky, firm but not too firm, heavenly rich, and the flavor was decidedly (and delightfully) cocoa-like. I stabilized the whipped cream (I don't use Cool Whip-type toppings if I can avoid them) with 1 tsp of unflavored gelatin and topped that with shaved chocolate curls. Very pretty and quite decadent. Would make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2014
Thank you Cecil for sharing your grandmother's recipe. I'm sure it would make her proud to know so many people are making & enjoying this fabulous pie! I made this & followed the recipe except I did use 4 tbsp corn starch and 4 egg yolks instead of 3 because a lot of folks on here recommended it. Came out great, just let it boil a couple minutes. I topped it with merengue, yeah don't put that whipped oil on this. It's not too sweet or too chocolatey like some have said, it's really really good. I made it for a get together with friends & they said it was the best they ever had. They're in their fifties & have tried plenty of pies plus they tell it like it is lol.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2014
I feel like this pie should not have come out as good as it did. It was my first attempt at a cream pie so I read through all the reviews to make sure I did everything right (and to see where other people had issues...) I ended up using 4 egg yolks instead of 3 because they were small eggs.. and then guestimated about 4-4.5 tablespoons of corn starch because I saw how many people had issues with it being runny. The whole time I couldn't tell if I was doing anything right... it took about 15 minutes to come to a boil, and I tossed a handful of milk chocolate chips in there for good measure. A friend came over not long after I put it in the fridge to chill and kept insisting I cut into it. I put it in the freezer a couple times to try and speed up the cooling process. After a few hours I made some whipped cream and spread that on top and we gave it a go, and it was So. Good. It was still a little soft because it hadn't chilled all the way through but we didn't care at all. This was a super easy recipe and I'd totally recommend it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2014
This pie was delicious. I substituted1 cup whipping cream and 2 cups milk-- I only had 1% milk. The stirring portion took a time long but the result was well worth the effort. The pie filling was smooth and the perfect consistency.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2013
The flavor was really good I used 4 tbsp cornstarch and 4 egg yolks but it still didn't set in the fridge not sure what I did wrong
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2013
I used 1 cup sugar, plenty sweet! Making your own lightly sweetened whip topping is a must, cool whip is too sweet. I added a quarter teaspoon almond extract and used a homemade oreo cookie crust. So good!! This will be my go to recipe forever. Thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2013
Made this exactly as the recipe states, my husband said it was the best chocolate cream pie he's ever had, and I agree. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 337) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Cream Pie I

This easy pie is dense with dark-chocolate flavor.

French Silk Chocolate Pie I

See how to make an amazingly simple, silky chocolate pie.

How to Make Chocolate Pecan Pie

Put a sweet, chocolate twist on classic pecan pie with this recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States