Chocolate Cream Pie II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2014
This is an awesome recipe. Super easy, I used and oreo cookie crust instead of a pastry!!! I made the whipped cream from scratch it was a hit!!! Only thing is STEP 2 continuously stirring while waiting for it to boil, I had to put a chair next to the stove b/c my feet started hurting. . . OH AND FOR STEP 1 Put the sugar in the bowl first THEN the yolks it will mix better and for the cornstarch, cocoa and salt; add cornstarch and salt first, mix completely THEN add the cocoa. Then add about a half a cup of milk mix completely then continue to add milk til its all in , it will be very thin like water almost (I used fat free milk) but will thicken when you put it on the stove. . .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caparice

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2014
AWESOME TASTE! I grew up and whenever our large extended family got together my mom's job was to make the sweet tea and the chocolate pies. This pie tastes just like what my mom makes. I didn't give it 5 stars ONLY because I had to increase the cornstarch so much. I wanted to make sure it set as we are having some international guests over for Thanksgiving. I would increase the cornstarch to almost a 1/2 cup - or just double it depending on how many pies you are making (I made a double batch as I made 2 pies). 1/2 cup of cornstarch for 2 pies did the trick. GREAT GREAT GREAT taste though! THANKS!!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by utkgrad101

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2014
This pie was just so good. It was barely more work than a boxed pudding mix. The taste was so, so much better! I followed other reviewers' advice and used 4 tablespoons of cornstarch. It turned out perfectly. I made it in the homemade graham crust from this website, and I made fresh stabilized whipped cream to go on top. Definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2014
This was delicious!!! I did use 4 egg yolks, 4 Tbsp. corn starch, and decreased milk to 2 3/4 cups as many suggested. It was the perfect firm consistency for pie. If you want this just to eat as pudding I could guess 3 Tbsp. cornstarch would be fine and you could probably use all 3 cups of milk. I can't believe several people have said that this tastes the same as boxed pudding. I've never had any kind of boxed pudding mix taste this delicious and rich. This is definitely a keeper!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SummerDawn
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2014
Simply the most amazing and easy to make pie, ever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2014
Wonderful pudding!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2014
This recipe is great. Works very well, and is delightful. Ok, if their are any Diabetics that would like to enjoy this or other cream pies, check this out. First off, I add 3-4 heaping tbs of corn starch. 2nd, if you dont want chocolate, simply dont add it. Try banana flavoring (2-3 tbs) and then add unsweetened fine coconut in the mix(qrtr cup). Follow all the instructions, but use splenda. When done, put mixture in cold steel bowl, and cover with saran wrap and poke a few holes in it. Make a stable whipped cream (gelatin, and corn starch) and pipe with a star tip till pie is covered. Enjoy! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jay west

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2014
I followed the receipt as written. The taste was slightly bitter to my taste. Perhaps I just like a smoother silkier pie?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2014
Made A double batch of this today and wow, turned out amazing. Will make this from now on. I added an extra heaping spoon of corn starch and it turned out nice and thick, easy to slice up and firm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Levi Power

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2014
This is very good but does need more cornstarch, it doesn't get thick enough. The flavor is just like my Mom used to make. But if it doesn't get thick enough makes a great pudding.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 344) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Cream Pie I

This easy pie is dense with dark-chocolate flavor.

French Silk Chocolate Pie I

See how to make an amazingly simple, silky chocolate pie.

How to Make Chocolate Pecan Pie

Put a sweet, chocolate twist on classic pecan pie with this recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States