Chocolate Cream Pie II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2014
This recipe will not set up as is. I tried this based on the star rating and did not read the reviews. Most people changed the amount of cornstarch, I will try that next time. Flavor was great, the pie just did not set
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2014
I have been making chocolate cream pies for many years because they are my husband's favorite. This was the best chocolate cream pie I have ever made, hands down. Rich chocolate flavor. Topped it with fresh made whipped cream. It was to die for. I used 2 whole eggs instead of the 3 egg yolks. Did not effect the taste or consistency. This recipe will replace all previous recipes I have.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2014
I made this recipe with the addition of 1 more TBS. cornstarch like some of the others stated. Was a bit soft. Maybe next time I will boil a little bit longer like someone else stated. Anyway, the taste was excellent and I will definitely make it again. Thumbs-Up...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Canyon City, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2014
Very disappointed. made this pie 4 hours ago and was getting ready to take it to my friend who is recovering and the pie didn't set. as I read the reviews now I see that almost everyone altered the recipe so it worked. although the flavor is wonderful, it's not pie....it's pudding with pie crust. Betty Crocker here I come.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2014
Made this by request of the birthday girl; everyone agreed it was wonderful. Based on reviews here, I substituted 1 cup of heavy cream for 1 cup of milk and used 4 T of cornstarch instead of 3. The texture was silky, firm but not too firm, heavenly rich, and the flavor was decidedly (and delightfully) cocoa-like. I stabilized the whipped cream (I don't use Cool Whip-type toppings if I can avoid them) with 1 tsp of unflavored gelatin and topped that with shaved chocolate curls. Very pretty and quite decadent. Would make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2014
Thank you Cecil for sharing your grandmother's recipe. I'm sure it would make her proud to know so many people are making & enjoying this fabulous pie! I made this & followed the recipe except I did use 4 tbsp corn starch and 4 egg yolks instead of 3 because a lot of folks on here recommended it. Came out great, just let it boil a couple minutes. I topped it with merengue, yeah don't put that whipped oil on this. It's not too sweet or too chocolatey like some have said, it's really really good. I made it for a get together with friends & they said it was the best they ever had. They're in their fifties & have tried plenty of pies plus they tell it like it is lol.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2014
I feel like this pie should not have come out as good as it did. It was my first attempt at a cream pie so I read through all the reviews to make sure I did everything right (and to see where other people had issues...) I ended up using 4 egg yolks instead of 3 because they were small eggs.. and then guestimated about 4-4.5 tablespoons of corn starch because I saw how many people had issues with it being runny. The whole time I couldn't tell if I was doing anything right... it took about 15 minutes to come to a boil, and I tossed a handful of milk chocolate chips in there for good measure. A friend came over not long after I put it in the fridge to chill and kept insisting I cut into it. I put it in the freezer a couple times to try and speed up the cooling process. After a few hours I made some whipped cream and spread that on top and we gave it a go, and it was So. Good. It was still a little soft because it hadn't chilled all the way through but we didn't care at all. This was a super easy recipe and I'd totally recommend it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2014
This pie was delicious. I substituted1 cup whipping cream and 2 cups milk-- I only had 1% milk. The stirring portion took a time long but the result was well worth the effort. The pie filling was smooth and the perfect consistency.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2013
The flavor was really good I used 4 tbsp cornstarch and 4 egg yolks but it still didn't set in the fridge not sure what I did wrong
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2013
I used 1 cup sugar, plenty sweet! Making your own lightly sweetened whip topping is a must, cool whip is too sweet. I added a quarter teaspoon almond extract and used a homemade oreo cookie crust. So good!! This will be my go to recipe forever. Thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 308) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Cream Pie I

This easy pie is dense with dark-chocolate flavor.

French Silk Chocolate Pie I

See how to make an amazingly simple, silky chocolate pie.

How to Make Chocolate Pecan Pie

Put a sweet, chocolate twist on classic pecan pie with this recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States