Chocolate Cream Pie II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2012
Extremely RICH and creamy! Delicious pie; if you love dark chocolate I highly recommend trying this pie! YUM. On a side note, I did change the milk to 2 3/4 c. and added 1/4 cup Irish cream liquor, which took it over the top! And then, since it was an Irish Cream kind of night, I decided to add a splash of it into the whipping cream while mixing it up! If I did that again, I'd add some sugar to it too (I didn't this time, and although it was good...well, perhaps I have a bit of a sweet tooth ...) Thank you so much Cecil for the amazing recipe! Well done!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lizzybaker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Rosa Beach, Florida, USA
Living In: Lacey, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2012
This recipe is epic! I used it to make a chocolate banana cream pie, and it turned out amazing. I accidentally used 3 whole eggs instead of just the yolks, but I don't think it made a difference. I also followed other reviewers' recommendations and used 4 tablespoons of cornstarch instead of three. I will definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shayla

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Moscow, Idaho, USA
Living In: Albany, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by nella114
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2012
After reading a few reviews, I decided to bake this with tweaking this recipe a little bit: as mentioned I added 4 egg yolks, 4 heaping spoonfuls of cornstarch, 2 cups of heavy cream and 1 cup of milk. I followed the rest of the recipe as it was. I did have to stir it for a good 10 mins at least, I didn't time myself, but you will see that the mixture thickens up and becomes non liquid - so you know it's ready! I wanted to make mini cakes, so I put the mixture in a pastry shell (I used Keebler ready crust Graham pack of 6, this made 12 mini cakes!). For the topping I decided to make a meringue topping, 4 egg whites, 1/8 cream of tartar, 6 tablespoons of sugar and beat until soft peaks form. Put the meringue on the mini cakes and bake at 350 for about 5-6 mins til golden. Let them cool down in the fridge. ....Let me tell you, they were delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2012
Nothing special,too dense
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2012
I lived in Minnesota for 20 years and still remember my first taste of Chocolate Silk Pie. Oh my. Since moving to NY state I've tried at least 2 dozen recipes in hopes of duplicating it. This is the closest in terms of the extremely rich chocolately taste. Almost TOO rich, but with whipping cream on top or meringue, whichever you prefer, it's perfect. Cut thin slices & serve with black coffee to cut the sweetness, cause it really is rich. BTW, I had NO problems at all with this setting up. Just be sure to bring to a FULL BOIL like it says. I did not add or delete anything in the recipe and it perfectly filled a prebaked 9" crust without overfilling. Anne
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2012
Delicious and so easy to make...it was a hit at my family dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2012
The first time I made this pie was for Thanksgiving, the pie was a hit! I also used 4 Tbsp of cornstarch instead of 3 and the pie set up nicely! I am making the pie again for a dinner next weekend and am sure I will use this recipe for years to come!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by iwsthere

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Girard, Ohio, USA
Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2012
This recipe turns out wonderful. I did like most added an extra egg yoke and another table spoon of cornstarch. I also cut the milk by 1/4 cup. It tasted heavenly. I topped it with the meringue II. All we need was graham cracker crumbs and our camp fire :).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2012
The longer it sits, the better it tastes. It's very rich. The chocolate almost tastes like brownie batter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2012
This was a great recipe. I tried it out today and my one year old daughter could not shovel it into her mouth fast enough. Also then montage of boys that I have at my house seemed to really enjoy it. I did use 4 tablespoons of cornstarch yet followed the rest of the recipe to the t. It was amazing and I am going to make this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian Moody

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 319) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Chocolate Cream Pie I

This easy pie is dense with dark-chocolate flavor.

French Silk Chocolate Pie I

See how to make an amazingly simple, silky chocolate pie.

Chef John's Chocolate Pecan Pie

A few chocolate chips will take rich, gooey pecan pie to amazing new heights.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States