Chocolate Cream Pie II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2015
I followed this recipe to a "T" except for the cool whipped topping. I used the egg whites to make meringue. The instructions for boiling did not say how long to boil. Once it started thickening I poured it into the unbaked pie crust and baked at 350 degrees for 10min. until the meringue browned. After pulling it out of the oven I noticed that it was runny like pudding. The taste was great, a lil too sweet though. I made another one and followed Jay's review and used 1 more tblsp of cornstarch. I must had over cooked it for it was chewy. I may try this recipe again but will make a few adjustments.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsboro, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2015
make with the easy whipped cream recipe on here. to die for!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erica Fite

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2015
The first time I made it it was like chocolate pudding--very runny. But tasty. The next time I used Mexican chocolate (Ibarra) plus used 4 T of cornstarch and added 1 packet of gelatin, the pie was smooth and firm enough to slice it without it loosing its shape. The Mexican chocolate was delicious. I added cocoa powder to the whipped cream topping. YUMMO
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2015
I followed the recipe, and it didn't thicken like pudding should - it was slightly thicker than chocolate milk even after refrigerating 8 hours. I ended up freezing it, which was the only way to make it edible as a pie rather than soup. If I make it again I would double the cornstarch, and cut the sugar in half, because it was far too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2015
Good tasting but runny even after adding additional cornstarch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Air982
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2014
This recipe I have made several times. I have never been anything other than very pleased. I followed the recipe and made no substitutions for the filling. I did make a meringue in my stand mixer with the egg whites that would otherwise not be used, while stirring filling. (Can I classify that as multi-tasking?) Will make this many more times. I like the availability of the ingredients that this recipe requires, I seldom am without cocoa, milk, etc. Do not be afraid of turning heat up high enough to get the mixture going just stir constantly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Air982

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2014
I made this pie twice in a row . It ended up turning into a chocolate cream shake instead and also a disaster ; in which it put me in distraught. What can i do to make sure it turns out right a 3rd time ?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2014
Tried this recipe for Thanksgiving and it was a big hit. After reading the reviews, I increased the cornstarch to 4 tablespoons. I also cooked it longer than after it came to a boil because the consistency wasn't right. I topped with whipped topping and mini chocolate chips. DELICIOUS!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2014
I followed the recipe but it did not set so I ended up with chocolate soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2014
It was perfect! It's old fashioned so you have to stir constantly for a long time before it thickens. My mom calls that adding love! It has to be medium heat with a whisk and when it finally boils you will know it! Let it cool thoroughly before putting it in the pie shell and refrigerate. The only change I made was real whipped cream and I used less vanilla only because I have pure vanilla (not imitation). Thank you for this recipe, it's a keeper! It set up fine for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 337) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Cream Pie I

This easy pie is dense with dark-chocolate flavor.

French Silk Chocolate Pie I

See how to make an amazingly simple, silky chocolate pie.

How to Make Chocolate Pecan Pie

Put a sweet, chocolate twist on classic pecan pie with this recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States