Chocolate Cream Pie II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Air982
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2014
This recipe I have made several times. I have never been anything other than very pleased. I followed the recipe and made no substitutions for the filling. I did make a meringue in my stand mixer with the egg whites that would otherwise not be used, while stirring filling. (Can I classify that as multi-tasking?) Will make this many more times. I like the availability of the ingredients that this recipe requires, I seldom am without cocoa, milk, etc. Do not be afraid of turning heat up high enough to get the mixture going just stir constantly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Air982

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2014
I made this pie twice in a row . It ended up turning into a chocolate cream shake instead and also a disaster ; in which it put me in distraught. What can i do to make sure it turns out right a 3rd time ?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2014
Tried this recipe for Thanksgiving and it was a big hit. After reading the reviews, I increased the cornstarch to 4 tablespoons. I also cooked it longer than after it came to a boil because the consistency wasn't right. I topped with whipped topping and mini chocolate chips. DELICIOUS!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2014
I followed the recipe but it did not set so I ended up with chocolate soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2014
It was perfect! It's old fashioned so you have to stir constantly for a long time before it thickens. My mom calls that adding love! It has to be medium heat with a whisk and when it finally boils you will know it! Let it cool thoroughly before putting it in the pie shell and refrigerate. The only change I made was real whipped cream and I used less vanilla only because I have pure vanilla (not imitation). Thank you for this recipe, it's a keeper! It set up fine for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JenRenee
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2014
This recipe was PERFECT! I have never made a chocolate cream pie before. I didn't know I'd have to stir it 20 minutes to bring to boil, but it was worth every second! After I was mid recipe, I was concerned about it not being creamy enough using the 1% milk I had on hand...so I used about 1/3 cup heavy cream as part of the 3 cups milk. And I saw a few comments about increasing the cornstarch, and I took it to 4 Tb. It turned out fabulous!!!! And my very picky boyfriend who grew up on frozen cream pies was blown away! This will be a new go to for me. ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2014
Rating this at a 4 star because I made the following modifications, like most people. 4 TBSP of corn starch and 4 egg yolks instead of the recommended. I also substituted 1/2 cup of the milk for whipping cream and used 2% milk for the rest just because it sounded like a good plan. :) Amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2014
for some reason it was too runny, I love the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2014
This is an awesome recipe. Super easy, I used and oreo cookie crust instead of a pastry!!! I made the whipped cream from scratch it was a hit!!! Only thing is STEP 2 continuously stirring while waiting for it to boil, I had to put a chair next to the stove b/c my feet started hurting. . . OH AND FOR STEP 1 Put the sugar in the bowl first THEN the yolks it will mix better and for the cornstarch, cocoa and salt; add cornstarch and salt first, mix completely THEN add the cocoa. Then add about a half a cup of milk mix completely then continue to add milk til its all in , it will be very thin like water almost (I used fat free milk) but will thicken when you put it on the stove. . .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caparice

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2014
AWESOME TASTE! I grew up and whenever our large extended family got together my mom's job was to make the sweet tea and the chocolate pies. This pie tastes just like what my mom makes. I didn't give it 5 stars ONLY because I had to increase the cornstarch so much. I wanted to make sure it set as we are having some international guests over for Thanksgiving. I would increase the cornstarch to almost a 1/2 cup - or just double it depending on how many pies you are making (I made a double batch as I made 2 pies). 1/2 cup of cornstarch for 2 pies did the trick. GREAT GREAT GREAT taste though! THANKS!!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by utkgrad101

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 332) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chocolate Cream Pie I

This easy pie is dense with dark-chocolate flavor.

French Silk Chocolate Pie I

See how to make an amazingly simple, silky chocolate pie.

How to Make Chocolate Pecan Pie

Put a sweet, chocolate twist on classic pecan pie with this recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States