Chocolate Cream Pie II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2014
As other reviewers have noted, I used 4 egg yolks and 4 heaping TB of corn starch + some. I added some extra cocoa for laughs, too :) I forgot to add the butter at the end, but it didn't seem to matter...I used 1 cup of half and half to begin with along with 2 and 2/3 c milk so I guess that's why. I made my own graham cracker crust using the Graham Cracker Crust I here on Allrecipes. I cooked it a long time. If this pie isn't solidifying for you, you didn't cook it long enough. It was a very very thick pudding texture while still hot in the pot, so I know it'd be solid enough when it cooled and stiffened. I used the 4 leftover egg whites to top this with swiss meringue. I let the pie cool as much as my time would allow and topped the pie, then set it in a hot toaster oven for just a few scant minutes. It was a perfect topping for this pie! My secret ingredient for this was half a Tahitian vanilla bean that I left in there to cook along with the rest of it instead of using extract. The reviews I got were so deliriously happy they are not appropriate for a family forum...lol. I've already had 2 people tell me to make this again. Great recipe, so simple if you don't have a lot of time to fuss. Will make again very soon so my mom and I can have a pie all to ourselves. Thank you Cecil and Allrecipes, you are awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2014
More like a fudge pie, but delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Talena
Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2014
I added an extra tbsp. of corn starch as others suggested. The pie was good but way too sweet for me. My husband and son loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Talena

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Santee, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Tabitha Church
Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2014
This was easy to throw together and thickened up quicker than I thought it would. I wanted it really thick and rich, so I followed the advice of reviewers and added an extra tbsp of cornstarch. I also threw in a tbsp of PB. My 2 yr old son said we should add marshmallows, which I thought might be a great idea, but instead I toasted some and used them as the topping (with a graham cracker crust!). When chilled, it didn't set up as stiffly as I expected (more like pudding) but the flavour was outstanding!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tabitha Church

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Scarborough, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Burlington, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2014
This recipe was a bit to rich/sweet for my liking and I found the texture to be quite heavy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2014
This is a great recipe. The first time I tried it the family loved it. It became a favorite. I tried the last one in the crumbled oreo crust and our chocolate lover couldn't get enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nan Thorpe

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2014
I used a little extra cornstarch and a bit less sugar. It was fabulous! When using cornstarch, NEVER lick the spoon and return to the mixture - salvia causes cornstarch to not set up! Just a reminder for the cooks since this is delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2014
Just made this and the flavor is fantastic! I did add an additional T of cornstarch, cut the sugar to 1 cup and used whole milk. While I prewarmed two cups of milk in the microwave, I whisked all the other ingredients together really well in a large bowl. I added the prewarmed milk whisking well. I then put it in the microwave for 3:30 minutes, whisked well, another 3:30 minutes, whisked well, and 3:00 minutes whisking well and done! It is the perfect texture and flavor for a chocolate cream pie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2014
Really great recipe. I also made some of the above modifications (four tablespoons of cornstarch, an extra egg yoke, 2 cups of cream, one cup of milk) but I also reduced the sugar to 1 cup which brings out the chocolate flavor (I also use organic cocoa) more to my taste. You also must whip fresh cream with a touch of vanilla and pipe it on the cooled pie, top with chocolate curls for a deluxe effect that will impress everyone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2014
I made this following others suggestions of an extra T of cornstarch, and extra yolk, and a mix of cream and milk, and it was a runny mess. The flavor wasn't terrible, but it wasn't spectacular either. Will not make this again! I don't know why it didn't set up. It must need tons more cornstarch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sara B.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 313) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Cream Pie I

This easy pie is dense with dark-chocolate flavor.

French Silk Chocolate Pie I

See how to make an amazingly simple, silky chocolate pie.

How to Make Chocolate Pecan Pie

Put a sweet, chocolate twist on classic pecan pie with this recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States