Chocolate Cream Pie II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 16, 2015
badly written for those not too experienced, like me. when a recipe says to stir constantly until boiling and remove from heat, that's what I do. it did seem thin, but this recipe had different ingredients so I thought that it would set up, no such luck. the other recipe that I have used says to bring to boil and stir for at least 8 minutes, WHICH IS WHAT THIS SHOULD SAY !!!! OR AT LEAST UNTIL THICK !!! all I had was chocolate soup that did not even taste good and a ruined pie crust. I did add and extra teaspoon of corn starch as other reviewers had done
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mark Layne

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2015
It turned out pretty good. I did use 4 tbs of cornstarch, which I saw that a lot of people did. Will make again!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2015
This is an excellent chocolate pie and quick to make with the exception that I always make my own pie crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TRICIA BROWN

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2015
So delicious!!!!!!!!! It was just amazing!! I used 2 cups of milk, 1/2 a cup of heavy whipping cream, and 1/2 a cup of water and it was amazing!! Of course, you don't have to use 1/2 a cup of water but I ran out of both cream and milk. :) I also made some homemade whipped cream instead of frozen whipped topping and it was HEAVENLY!!!! I seriously suggest it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2015
Great chocolate taste. I love cooking with cocoa powder. I will add more cornstarch next time and definitely want to try the tip on adding some Bailey's Irish Cream. I did substitute a small can of evaporated milk for some of the 1% milk I used for a somewhat richer flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jodi McKinney

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2015
I followed the suggestions of several of the reviewers and used 4 egg yolks and 4 tbsp. of cornstarch. I tried the suggestion of Ginnyg of heating the chocolate mixture in the microwave and stirring every minute. The mixture turned out perfectly and the filling was firm and not liquidy like pudding. I followed another reviewer's suggestion to lessen the milk by 1/4 of a cup and that was helpful, too. With these changes the recipe was perfect, rich and delicious. I topped it with real whipping cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Betty Batcheller

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2015
This is a great recipe. I followed the recipe and the results are wonderful. I made a graham cracker crust. After I poured it in the crust, I laid a piece of plastic wrap over it so it won't form a skin. After it cooled, I topped it with whipped cream. This recipe completely filled the 9 inch pie plate. Thank You !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robin Brumagin

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2015
I followed this recipe to a "T" except for the cool whipped topping. I used the egg whites to make meringue. The instructions for boiling did not say how long to boil. Once it started thickening I poured it into the unbaked pie crust and baked at 350 degrees for 10min. until the meringue browned. After pulling it out of the oven I noticed that it was runny like pudding. The taste was great, a lil too sweet though. I made another one and followed Jay's review and used 1 more tblsp of cornstarch. I must had over cooked it for it was chewy. I may try this recipe again but will make a few adjustments.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsboro, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2015
make with the easy whipped cream recipe on here. to die for!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erica Fite

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2015
The first time I made it it was like chocolate pudding--very runny. But tasty. The next time I used Mexican chocolate (Ibarra) plus used 4 T of cornstarch and added 1 packet of gelatin, the pie was smooth and firm enough to slice it without it loosing its shape. The Mexican chocolate was delicious. I added cocoa powder to the whipped cream topping. YUMMO
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 344) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Cream Pie I

This easy pie is dense with dark-chocolate flavor.

French Silk Chocolate Pie I

See how to make an amazingly simple, silky chocolate pie.

How to Make Chocolate Pecan Pie

Put a sweet, chocolate twist on classic pecan pie with this recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States