Chocolate Cream Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2012
Finally a chocolate cream pie made from scratch that does run out of the crusT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2012
I am not sire why there are negative reviews unless the reviewers are not familiar with custard/cream recipes. I have made this 5 times in different weather conditions..humid, hot and cold and each time it comes out great! The one thing I have used is Belgium coca powder which is richer in flavor. I also take my time to cook it this is not one to rush and you need to constantly whisk it..I love the flavor and the velvet texture!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2012
This came out perfect. Thank you a so much. From me, and from my tummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dsb9938

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Edison, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2011
This pie was terrible. It never set, even though I added a heaping 1/3 cup flour and cooked it three times as long. It was also way too sweet for me, although no one else said anything about that. It was so runny that it wouldn't even qualify as pudding. Definitely a HUGE disappointment.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by shepperd2
Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2011
this was my first attempt at a homemade chocolate cream pie and it was DELICIOUS! It was easy to make, and it tasted great! I was worried about it being too thin, due to some of the reviews i had read, so i did put a heaping 1/3 cup of flour in also and it turned out very well! It was a hit for my family and inlaws!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shepperd2

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Alva, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2010
This was terrible. I followed the recipes exactly and it was sickly sweet and way too thick. I is super dense and it like gum paste. I will never try this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2010
Absolutely delicious!!! I ate a piece every night till it was gone....and it was so easy to make too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather A.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Buchanan, Michigan, USA
Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2008
I made this pie last night and followed the recipe to a tee and it still turned out a little too runny. I read the review prior to making the pie where someone said their's was too thin so I made a special point to use a heaping measurement of flour and cook a little longer and mine was still not as thick as it should have been. The filling had a good taste and it wasn't hard to make it's just there is a problem with the thickening part of this recipe. I wouldn't make it again unless someone else fine tuned it because I don't make things that I can't be proud to serve and I wasn't proud to serve this pie as it slightly fell apart when cut the following noon after it was made the night before.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2007
This pie was extremely easy to make and came out picture perfect. Everyone in my family enjoyed it, including my children. My suggestion for anyone that says it's not setting firmly....cook it longer. It actually takes on a thick, pudding texture when it is cooked enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2007
I made this quite sometime ago for my southern husband who loves Chocolate pie. I'm making it again for his birthday. It set pretty well although it could have been a lil thicker. It was kind of a runnier pudding. An easy fix however. I also added mini baking chips to the bottom of the pie shell before I poured in the mixture. Texas Famous Tootie Pies does the same thing with their chocolate pies and it tastes amazing. This recipe even works well using Splenda. Definitely a milk chocolate recipe and very yummy. My kids and husband loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States