Chocolate Cream Passover Torte Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2007
I'm reviewing this before Pesach this year based on making it Pesach last year (I'm a little slow!). I agree with the poster who said that this might be the best Passover desert EVER. It's really delicious and not just "delicious for Passover". I also experienced issues with the cake sticking. Frankly, I kind of stuck it all back together and pasted it together with the whipped cream. Next time I'll go heavier on greasing my parchment. It was a bit of work, but worth it! A very nice cake to bring to someone else's seder! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2006
Delicious! Since others may not have toasted almonds before like me, here’s a recipe: To toast sliced or slivered almonds, heat oven to 350E. Spread almonds in one layer in a shallow baking pan. Bake 8 to 10 minutes, stirring occasionally until light golden brown. Cool completely. To grind, use food processor or chopper. I used sliced almonds and the first batch went from underdone to burned within 2 minutes so watch them closely. I used a chopper to finely cut them. I wanted my torte to look like the photo so I toasted another ½-¾ cup more sliced almonds to put on the outside edge when it was done. To affix the almonds, I put some on my hand and patted them into the cocoa whipped cream. I thought I had a standard size jelly-roll pan but it was larger than what was stated in the recipe (mine is 11”x17”) so had to use 2 parchment sheets. I didn’t spread the cake the full length of the pan but stopped about 2” short so it would be similar to the recipe. The cake did not come off the parchment easily; I had to ease it off with a spatula. There was just enough cocoa whipped cream to fill and cover the torte so don’t make the filling layers too thick. This recipe served 10 (instead of 12). It took me longer to prepare this dessert than the recipe stated but it was worth every minute. It got rave reviews. It’s a terrific dessert for the Days of Unleavened Bread. I am eager to make this for another friend who has a gluten-free diet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lynwood, California, USA
Living In: Davenport, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2006
THIS WAS A HUGE HIT! I will make it during other occasions as well. I think everyone who loves chocolate should try it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2006
It was just ok. Would like it a bit sweeter. By the way, I used Reynold's non-stick foil, but the cake still stuck to it a bit. Also, I found the frosting somewhat hard to spread. I'll keep trying other recipes before going back to this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2006
I made this for our Sedar last night. It was sooo good. Everyone commented on how light and delicious it was. I was told several times how this was the best Passover recipe ever!! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Canton, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2005
I may be a gentile, but when I made this for my Old Testament class they begged for more!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2005
Kind of hard to make, and not sure it was worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2005
WOW! This ia an excellent addition to our Passover dinner and all the guests at my in-laws loved it! It was a hit and I'm sure I will be making it again next year! Also, it's great to have a recipe with clear and descriptive directions - it really helped a lot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2005
I made this for my siser-in-law who can't have any wheat or gluten. It is delicious. The chocolate flavor is perfect, and it looks very elegant. This is going to be a traditional dessert in our family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2004
This recipe is delicious fun, and very moist-unlike typical Passover desserts. If the kids like it sweeter, add chocolate chips/or more sugar to the batter, or add more sugar/or chocolate chips to the filling. Parchment paper is a must! No stick, no mess, no added calories. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States