Chocolate Cream Cheese Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2010
After reading a number of reviews with suggestions to add butter and/or powdered sugar I at first made notes to myself to keep that in mind and do that when I made this. For whatever reason, in the end I decided against that, opting to make the frosting exactly as the recipe directed. And what a reward I got for that! This is rich, smooth, super chocolatey and not too sweet - but certainly sweet enough. One reviewer said it best when she called this a "frosting for grown-ups." When some of the reviewers described this as not sweet enough I knew this was just what I was after and would be perfect for the cupcakes I made with "A-Number-1 Banana Cake," also from this site. After mixing it up I refrigerated it and checked it every 15 minutes or so, giving it a stir and repeating until I had a thick enough consistency for piping. The texture alone is a good reason to try this - this is real frosting and a simply excellent recipe. Also - this was just the right amount to frost 24 cupcakes and would also work for a 9x13" cake. If I were to use this for a layer cake, however, particularly if I planned to pipe any decorations or borders, I would double the recipe - better to have some left over than not enough!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
126 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2008
Wow. Creamy and perfect chocolate-to-cream-cheese flavor balance. And EASY; don't be threatened by the double-boiler thing--just fill a pan with a couple of inches of water, put your chocolate and cream in another, smaller pan and hold it in the water to melt the chocolate. When the chocolate is nearly all melted (but not all), remove it from the boiling water and stir until creamy and smooth and fully melted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
86 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2002
I don't usually like icing - it's usually *way* too sweet, and the sugar gritting under my teeth makes me gag. However, this is a great icing - rich chocolate flavor, and the cream cheese gives it a nice "tang". This is more like a fudge or truffle-y flavor than your typical concoction. Finally, frosting for grown-ups.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
62 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2008
Didn't have heavy whipping cream, so just used a splash of milk. Turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2005
This recipe seemed like it had all the good stuff in it--but we (my family) all thought it was a bit too bitter. It either needs more sugar or milk chocolate chips rather than semi-sweet. It has a wonderful creamy texture, though, and lots of potential.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2003
I really like this recipe. I made this for my niece's birthday. I used it on the Deep Dark Chocolate Cake from Hershey's, and I put cherry filling between the layers. It was a great success and several people asked for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2009
Though it's not in my nature to give bad reviews, this was just horrible! I used high quality ingredients and followed the recipe exactly, and it was unbearably biting (even my husband, who loves dark chocolate, could not stand it). I added another full cup of cream and extra pow. sugar (and then regular sugar as well), and it was very barely edible. I honestly don't understand the high reviews! I regret wasting the last of my good chocolate on this. I'll be having my cupcakes plain tonight!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SemantiTheft

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: North Baltimore, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2010
Loved the smooth texture and slight tang. I did add more powdered sugar since I used 60% cacao chips. I probably added 3/4 c. sugar total. I also added about 3 T. butter to make the frosting creamier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Allen, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2003
This is a wonderful easy and delicious frosting. It turned out very creamy and I used it on a Chocolate mayonaise cake, which is already very moist. Worked great!! try it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2002
Very good on Hershey's Quick and Easy Fudgey Brownies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by schmerna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 97) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cream Cheese Frosting II

See how to make the best cream-cheese frosting for cakes, cookies, and breads.

Chef John's Cream Cheese Frosting

See how to make an easy cream cheese frosting.

Whipped Cream Cream Cheese Frosting

Cream cheese and whipped cream make this frosting addictive.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States