Chocolate Cream Cheese Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2002
I don't usually like icing - it's usually *way* too sweet, and the sugar gritting under my teeth makes me gag. However, this is a great icing - rich chocolate flavor, and the cream cheese gives it a nice "tang". This is more like a fudge or truffle-y flavor than your typical concoction. Finally, frosting for grown-ups.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
62 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2002
Very good on Hershey's Quick and Easy Fudgey Brownies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by schmerna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2003
I really like this recipe. I made this for my niece's birthday. I used it on the Deep Dark Chocolate Cake from Hershey's, and I put cherry filling between the layers. It was a great success and several people asked for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2003
This is a wonderful easy and delicious frosting. It turned out very creamy and I used it on a Chocolate mayonaise cake, which is already very moist. Worked great!! try it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2003
WOW WOW WOW! When you use this icing on the "Too Much Chocolate Cake" recipe found here you will never make another chocolate cake again. This icing is fabulous!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2003
this is a great recipe and very easy to follow. I added the frosting to a batch of walnut brownies and my husband ate them all!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2004
I found this recipe online here during an icing emergency! I didn't have the chocolate morsels on hand, so in their place I subsititued 8 ounces of bittersweet chocolate. Oh my Gosh. This an unbelievable icing! Wonderful! I used it on a white cake and everyone was SWOONING over it. Everyone wants a copy of the recipe! Thanks for saving the day! Great website and great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2004
The best frosting I have ever had!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2004
I used this with the Dark Chocolate Cake II recipe from this site. It was easy to make but I used dark chocolate chips instead of semisweet because a previous reviewer said it wasn't chocolaty enough. It turned out wonderful, very fast and easy to spread which was great because I was in a hurry that day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2005
this icing is great. its nice and thicccck and doesn't flump downwards like when you use butter. it has a nice creamy chocolatey taste and fills your mouth with delicousness. It's liek taking a big bite out of heaven. It's very hard to impress me but this one did.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 97) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cream Cheese Frosting II

See how to make the best cream-cheese frosting for cakes, cookies, and breads.

Chef John's Cream Cheese Frosting

See how to make an easy cream cheese frosting.

Whipped Cream Cream Cheese Frosting

Cream cheese and whipped cream make this frosting addictive.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States