Chocolate Cream Cheese Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2008
Luscious is the best way to describe this frosting. As I read through the recipe I was a little skeptical about the fact that it called for no butter, and indeed, as I mixed it up, I couldn't help but add a couple of tablespoons which I found made this a lot creamier. Rather than opening up a can of evaporated milk for such a small amount called for, I simply used half and half (milk would be fine too) until I had the desired consistency to pipe it onto "Banana Cupcakes," also from this site. Rich, chocolatey, creamy and not too sweet, this was simply perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
202 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2004
Excellent recipe and easy. You can substitute half-n-half or milk if you don't have evaporated milk. Not too sweet and very creamy, but I had to add a little more half-n-half to get the consistency I wanted. And it's more than enough to cover a large cake and sides.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
99 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cherry Rae
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2006
This was very quick and easy to whip up and spread over a layer cake. I used half fat cream cheese for a less-sinful result. I also only used around 1/3 of the sugar suggested. Even with a small amount of confectioners sugar it was a great consistency. I used 87% cocoa swiss chocolate and also added a couple of squares of white vanilla chocolate instead of using condensed milk. I changed the servings to 6 as I was frosting an 8 inch layer cake and it was to be swirled with the Brown Sugar Cream Cheese Frosting. I had a tonne left over so it was more than enough; I think there would have been plenty to frost the 8inch layer cake on it's own. This was all used on the "Fudge Cake" recipe. It was so rich and delicious. It was perfect for a special occasion cake (in this case a birthday). I actually found the frosting quite tangy, but this might be because I didn't use condensed milk and I cut the sugar so much. I do like a good tangy frosting. I would recommend this to anyone who is a chocolate lover, and I think it would probably actually work best on a non-chocolate cake in order to appreciate it fully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
72 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cherry Rae

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Birmingham, Staffordshire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Nancey Malone Cassalia
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2009
have to admit i did alot of tweaking on this and boy did it pay off!! normally i try to stay within the peramiter of the recipe here and am glad i do but i have been sooo tired of the sugary icing as much as i like icing!! so what i did was use 12 oz chocolate melted, 2-8 oz cream cheese & 1 cup butter, and what a treat!!! delish!! have used with white, milk and semi sweet chocolate at different times on this recipe and all have been sooo good and not soo sugary!! try it u'll love it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nancey Malone Cassalia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Altoona, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Port Saint Lucie, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2008
THIS FROSTING HAD A GREAT CONSISTENCY AND SUPERB FLAVOR. ABOUT THE ONLY THING I DID DIFFERENT WAS I ADDED 2 TEASPOON OF INSTANT COFFEE TO THE MELTED CHOCOLATE TO INTENSIFY THE FLAVOR. IT WAS SUPER SWEET AND FLAVORFUL. NEXT TIME I MAY ADD MAYBE 3/4 CUP LESS SUGAR. I ALSO USED LOW FAT CREAM CHEESE AND IT STILL CAME OUT FABULOUS. THIS IS A KEEPER FOR ANY BAKER. KUDOS TO THE RECIPE CREATOR.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2007
This recipe turned out great for me! The best part about it is that it's not too sweet. For those of you who are the type to scrape some of the frosting off your birthday cake. This is the recipe for you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2001
This frosting is out of this world yummy. My husband asked for some brownies with frosting and i found this recipe. I made half a batch and it was more than enough for a 9 x 13 pan even though he likes a lot of frosting. Thanks for a fabulous recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2006
Loved this recipe! The only substitution I made was heavy cream for the evaporated milk. I only used the cream since I had some left in the fridge from another recipe and wanted to use it up. Not sure if the cream made it taste different . . . but it was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andrea Figler

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by What a Dish!
Reviewed: May 27, 2006
SO good! It turned out thick and rich, almost like a fudge icing. I used it to frost David's yellow cake, also from this site. Beautiful combo. I was short one square of chocolate, so I used 3 TBS. cocoa powder + 1 TBS. butter and melted it with the rest of the chocolate. This recipe worked out very well in my Kitchenaid. I made it for my little guy's 2nd birthday today, and he loved it too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by What a Dish!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2000
I made this to top a Chocolate Mayonnaise Cake for a friend. Everyone LOVED it, and mentioned that the frosting wasn't sickeningly sweet. Now they all think I'm a gourmet baker! Thanks for posting it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 154) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Plan Your Easter Brunch
Plan Your Easter Brunch

Breakfast casseroles, drinks, fancy eggs, and brunch ideas for a sweet Easter event.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cream Cheese Frosting II

See how to make the best cream-cheese frosting for cakes, cookies, and breads.

Chef John's Cream Cheese Frosting

See how to make an easy cream cheese frosting.

Whipped Cream Cream Cheese Frosting

Cream cheese and whipped cream make this frosting addictive.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States