Chocolate Cream Cheese Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2011
Yum! This frosted 24 cupcakes, and I still have a bunch leftover. Perfect excuse to make more cupcakes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2011
Exactly what I was looking for! I used this to ice strawberry cupcakes (Strawberry dream cake from this website) and it was perfect. This is NOT a super sweet icing. Though if you used semi-sweet choc rather than unsweetened chocolate it might be sweeter. I also used milk (skim milk b/c that's all i had) instead of the canned evaporated milk and it still turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2011
This was amazing. I did not have enough cream Cheese so I used some butter. I also did not have candy so I used 2 tbs cocoa powder. Turned out excellent. Spreads easily and was very tasty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2011
Great frosting recipe, extremely easy to make. For those who don't like super sweet frosting, I would recommend tasting the mixture while added the confectioner's sugar at half cup intervals. I stopped at two cups, and still my colleagues (who all love sweets) found it just slightly on the sugary side. Like many others, I didn't have evaporated milk and just used full cream milk. Had no problems with the consistency even with the changes. Turned out great! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2011
I did not like this frosting! I would've used sweetened chocolate instead of unsweetened.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lovin This Shindig

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2011
This frosting is DIVINE. My only substitution was buttermilk for the evaporated milk and I loved the way it turned out. This is a definite keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2011
wonderful. I will never buy frosting again! thank you for this!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2011
This frosting was really good and very spreadable. I used the 1/3 fat neufchatel cheese rather than full fat cream cheese which still worked out well and tasted rich and creamy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Menlo Park, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2011
Delicious. I melted the chocolate squares in the microwave, which was so easy. I also didn't want to open a can of milk so I just used 2%. Worked just as well in my book!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2011
Whoops! I started to make this frosting before I realized that I didn't have nearly enough icing sugar. I substituted sem-sweet chocolate squares instead of the unsweetened ones and only added about 1/2 cup of sugar and it turned out great. I love a flexible recipe! I also added a heaping teaspoon of instant coffee as it was going onto a Mocha Chocolate Cake. I also put a little frosting aside and added some fresh blended raspberries for a layer in the middle of the cake. Oh my! The final product got rave reviews. A new Valentine's tradition!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 150) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cream Cheese Frosting II

See how to make the best cream-cheese frosting for cakes, cookies, and breads.

Chef John's Cream Cheese Frosting

See how to make an easy cream cheese frosting.

Whipped Cream Cream Cheese Frosting

Cream cheese and whipped cream make this frosting addictive.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States