Chocolate Cream Cheese Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2012
Super tasty and has that cream cheese tang. I backed off by 1 cup of the powdered sugar at the suggestion of other reviewers. Also subbed half&half for evaporated milk. Turned out fine & dandy when paired with "One Bowl Chocolate Cake" from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by candlebat

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2012
I needed frosting for a box cake mix since I didn't have any on hand, and didn't really want to use the traditional whip cream version i have (which uses shortening - very messy and time consuming). This recipe seemed simple enough and I had a bar of cream cheese that needed used. Like another reviewer I added butter (about 4 tbspn). I needed enough for a layer cake, and I actually ended up with enough extra to frost a pan of brownies with. Used half and half, maybe more like 3-4 Tbsp - amount of liquid needed will depend on the amount of sugar used. Followed the directions otherwise, turned out great. This was a birthday cake and I used a piping bag for added decorations, had no trouble piping this, although you do need to work fast since the icing dries almost like a sugar cookie icing once it's applied. Delicious, this is a keeper for my baking box!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2012
This was MUCH loved by my husband !! The recipe was easy to execute, so it is a definitely a keeper for me :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mount Clemens, Michigan, USA
Living In: Chesterfield, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2012
Easy to make, followed the recipe as is and really liked it. Quite rich when paired with chocolate cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2012
This recipe is so versatile. I used dark chocolate chips instead of unsweetened squares, mascarpone cheese instead of cream cheese, and half and half instead of evaporated milk and it was fantastic. You control the stiffness with the amount of cream or evaporated milk you put in. I used this to frost my gluten-free king arthur chocolate cake mix and it was perfection. Exactly what I was looking for. Thanks Richard!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle McElroy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2012
My husband loved it! that says it all:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by piecookiemaker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2012
I did add a little more milk than suggested, but this turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2012
I think I've managed to have this frosting actually make it onto a dessert ONCE. We make it just to eat off the spoon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STONYTHORN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ipswich, Suffolk, England, U.K.
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2012
It was good! It had a little bit of that chalky powdered sugar taste, but i threw in the dregs from my french press (the silt on the bottom of my cup of coffee, not the actual grounds) and that evened out the flavor nicely!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chewelah, Washington, USA
Living In: Tacoma, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ajo263
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2012
I LOVE this frosting and will make it a lot from now on. I used it to frost Strawberry Cake II from this site (also very yummy!) and it was a huge hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ajo263

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 154) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cream Cheese Frosting II

See how to make the best cream-cheese frosting for cakes, cookies, and breads.

Chef John's Cream Cheese Frosting

See how to make an easy cream cheese frosting.

Whipped Cream Cream Cheese Frosting

Cream cheese and whipped cream make this frosting addictive.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States