Chocolate Cream Cheese Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2012
This is a chocolate dream tasting honor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Surprise, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2012
This was quick easy to make. Also very creamy and easy to spread. I did not have the unsweetened chocolate squares and used Dark Chocolate chips instead. I also doubled the amount of chocolate because it needed more chocolate in my opinion. I will definately use this recipe again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2012
I am currently in Chile, and realized that there is no cocoa powder here... So while making a chocolate cake for my family, I decided to make this. It turned out wonderfully. I did not add the milk as I felt it wasn't needed. I also did not measure anything (as measurements also do not exist here) but I think I used a bit less powdered sugar. It had a wonderful flavor and I ate the leftovers with strawberries :) It made a great Halloween cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SSwisher
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2012
Tasty frosting but consistency more like a glaze - wish I had stopped at 1 tablespoon of cream (or stayed with none) because it was too runny to hold a shape at the end. I used a good chocolate and my frosting was very light. Perhaps because I used 1 oz of chocolate, which with my bar was only 2 squares? Used to top pumpkin bread III cupcakes from AR and the combo was fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fulton, Illinois, USA
Living In: Bremerton, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2012
Realized I was out of butter when I went to make a frosting for my son's birthday cake. Couldn't get to the store so I made this frosting. It reminded me of chocolate cheesecake. I liked it, but I prefer regular chocolate frosting on cake. It was interesting, however.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2012
Super tasty and has that cream cheese tang. I backed off by 1 cup of the powdered sugar at the suggestion of other reviewers. Also subbed half&half for evaporated milk. Turned out fine & dandy when paired with "One Bowl Chocolate Cake" from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by candlebat

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2012
I needed frosting for a box cake mix since I didn't have any on hand, and didn't really want to use the traditional whip cream version i have (which uses shortening - very messy and time consuming). This recipe seemed simple enough and I had a bar of cream cheese that needed used. Like another reviewer I added butter (about 4 tbspn). I needed enough for a layer cake, and I actually ended up with enough extra to frost a pan of brownies with. Used half and half, maybe more like 3-4 Tbsp - amount of liquid needed will depend on the amount of sugar used. Followed the directions otherwise, turned out great. This was a birthday cake and I used a piping bag for added decorations, had no trouble piping this, although you do need to work fast since the icing dries almost like a sugar cookie icing once it's applied. Delicious, this is a keeper for my baking box!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2012
This was MUCH loved by my husband !! The recipe was easy to execute, so it is a definitely a keeper for me :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mount Clemens, Michigan, USA
Living In: Chesterfield, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2012
Easy to make, followed the recipe as is and really liked it. Quite rich when paired with chocolate cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2012
This recipe is so versatile. I used dark chocolate chips instead of unsweetened squares, mascarpone cheese instead of cream cheese, and half and half instead of evaporated milk and it was fantastic. You control the stiffness with the amount of cream or evaporated milk you put in. I used this to frost my gluten-free king arthur chocolate cake mix and it was perfection. Exactly what I was looking for. Thanks Richard!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle McElroy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 149) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Cream Cheese Frosting II

See how to make the best cream-cheese frosting for cakes, cookies, and breads.

Chef John's Cream Cheese Frosting

See how to make an easy cream cheese frosting.

Whipped Cream Cream Cheese Frosting

Cream cheese and whipped cream make this frosting addictive.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States