Chocolate Cream Cheese Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2008
Luscious is the best way to describe this frosting. As I read through the recipe I was a little skeptical about the fact that it called for no butter, and indeed, as I mixed it up, I couldn't help but add a couple of tablespoons which I found made this a lot creamier. Rather than opening up a can of evaporated milk for such a small amount called for, I simply used half and half (milk would be fine too) until I had the desired consistency to pipe it onto "Banana Cupcakes," also from this site. Rich, chocolatey, creamy and not too sweet, this was simply perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
200 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2008
On my tongue, I first tasted sweetness. Then came the tang of cream cheese. This was followed by a slight bitterness that is often characteristic of chocolate. Complex flavor and very smooth. Not your usual chocolate frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sidney, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Galena, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2008
This tastes wonderful! I've made it a couple times now, and here are a couple things I've learned from my mistakes: (1) Don't add much milk to thin it -- just keep beating it with the mixer. (2) You can substitute orange liqueur instead of vanilla, and/or add pumpkin pie spice. (3) The pumpkin spice and orange liqueur mix added to frosting is really good over the Chocolate Pumpkin Cake recipe on this site. (4) It's hard to not lick your fingers with this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2008
Fabulous! I don't usually like to alter a recipe too much before I've tried it once, but since I didn't have unsweetened chocolate, I had to. I only used half the sugar and doubled the chocolate using semi-sweet chocolate chips. Turned out perfectly rich and chocolatey and I will use this all the time! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda J.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Apple Valley, California, USA
Living In: Pinon Hills, California, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2008
Really great did great things for my cake a step away from the same old thing. Thanks for submitting
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2008
this frosting was pretty good - i especially like that it is so versatile. i had to substitute a lot of ingredients just based on what i had available - unsweetened cocoa power and oil for the chocolate squares, whole milk for evaporated, and i only had about 6 ounces of cream cheese. it still turned out rich, fluffy, and easy to spread. yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BECCAP

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Warminster, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Pipersville, Pennsylvania, USA
Photo by Joy!
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2008
I paired this frosting with the luscious lemon cake. It was very good, however, very sweet. I didn't even use the required amount of sugar. I liked each item separately, I don't think I'll pair them together again. This frosting would be very good on perhaps a butterscotch cake or maybe even cheesecake brownies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joy!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hendersonville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Madison, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2008
So yummy and creamy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lynchburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2008
Made 1/2 recipe and put over Deep Dish Brownies from this site. Very, very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Philip, South Dakota, USA
Living In: Watertown, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2008
This is okay, I guess I like sweet frostings because this was too bitter for me. I added more powder sugar and milk to get it to the flavor that my husband and I enjoy. I am not a fan of dark chocolate but am crazy over milk chocolate, so maybe this is why I wanted it sweeter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 153) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cream Cheese Frosting II

See how to make the best cream-cheese frosting for cakes, cookies, and breads.

Chef John's Cream Cheese Frosting

See how to make an easy cream cheese frosting.

Whipped Cream Cream Cheese Frosting

Cream cheese and whipped cream make this frosting addictive.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States